投身杏坛,耕耘幸福:巴拿马SGI教师部

黑蒂‧绍塞多 巴拿马SGI教师部领导人
男女教师们合影。
2019年,巴拿马SGI教师部的会员与当地的教师们在一场关于创价教育的教师培训会上合照 (© 巴拿马SGI)

创价学会第一任会长牧口常三郎是一名教育家及教育理论家。当时身为校长的他,提倡了以创造价值(创价)为本的独特教育方式。第三任会长池田大作将创价诠释为“不论身处何种环境,都要找出生存的意义,充实自己,为别人的幸福贡献力量。”(了解更多)。对牧口而言,此能力就是幸福的别名,是教育的根本目的。

在池田创办的创价教育体系里具体展现牧口的创价教育思想。回到较本土的层面,世界各地有许多教育工作者,尤其是创价学会的会员深受启发,在各自的领域发挥及善用创价教育理念。在本文中,巴拿马SGI教师部的领导人黑蒂‧绍塞多(Heidy Saucedo)阐述该教师部如何探讨活用牧口的概念。

巴拿马SGI教师部的宗旨是推广创价教育理念,强调教育的根本目的就是为人类创造幸福。

所有探讨的课题将对我们的工作带来极大的帮助,教育界能学习到要专注于人生与教育的目的──也就是获得幸福。

──G‧I‧欧尔特加(G.I. Ortega)

此观念富有能为全球带来正面改变的潜力。教师部的活动包括了教师们的学习会、教育论坛、教师培训研讨会、讲习班以及在学校里举办的展览。我们与教育部携手合作,也常寻求和各个有意提高教育质量的单位合作的机会。

我们的核心目标就是要鼓励大家钻研牧口常三郎的理念并推广人本主义以及和平文化。如今共有大约一百位教师参与教师部。

人本观

全世界的疫情大大地改变了教学模式。有鉴于此,我们决定于2021年2月举办了一场为期五天,题为“新时代教育”(Education in the New Era)的教师培训线上研讨会。

一场别出心裁且激励人心的研讨会。我们学习到身与心之间的连结以及如何管理我们自己的情绪。同时也了解到与学生们互动还有随时面带笑容的重要性。

――Z‧费尔南德兹(Z. Fernández)

我们的决意就是要打动每一位教师的心,激发大家的信念——一旦决定致力培育人才,无论如何都必须倾尽所能做到最好。

具体来说,我们的展望是基于创造价值的人本观念,鼓励每一位老师唤起自身的内在变革,欣然担起造福社会的责任,对教育界带来影响。此活动着重推广教育的核心是为了孩子的幸福,同时也是培育孩子能与环境和谐共存,在各自的社区作出贡献。

此次研讨会受教育部认可,被列入在学期开始前培训教育工作者的课程计划之一。

每一场演讲都很精彩,教学法深入浅出。尤其是关于情绪管理的讲解,特别让我领会良多。

――D‧玻尼亚(D. Bonilla)

一众四十三位来自不同学校的教育工作者参与了这次的活动,另外还有来自巴拿马SGI的十位教师部主讲者以及负责技术和后勤支援的创价学会的会员们。

研讨会内容涵盖各种主题,从沟通到教育技术以及虚拟游戏活动等。

研讨会来到尾声,巴拿马SGI理事长卡洛斯‧迈雷斯(Carlos Maires)强调,巴拿马SGI尤其冀望在教育领域方面为社会做出正面贡献。

这是一场非常不一样的研讨会,论题精彩又多门,而且都与我们的生活以及专业的提升息息相关。

──R‧A‧德‧莫拉雷斯(R.A. de Morales)

他提及牧口的决意,教育的目的并不是为了传授知识,而是引导学习过程,授予学生们探讨学问的方法。他接着说,对于牧口而言,教育关乎孩子的幸福,也就是说让孩子们抱持开放的胸襟,以有创意的方式与大环境交流。这些观点道出了我们展望的重心,即是让每一个人自强,活出幸福与创造力的人生。

[2021年5月]

Educating for Happiness: The SGI-Panama Educators Division

Heidy Saucedo, SGI-Panama Educators Division Head
Group photo of several men and women
Members of the SGI-Panama educators division with local teachers during a teacher training seminar on value-creating education in 2019 [© SGI-Panama]

The founding president of the Soka Gakkai, Tsunesaburo Makiguchi, was an educator and educational theorist who, while working as a school principal, developed a unique approach to education rooted in the concept of value creation (“soka”). Third founding president, Daisaku Ikeda has described value creation as “the capacity to find meaning, to enhance one’s own existence and contribute to the well-being of others, under any circumstance” (see here). For Makiguchi, this capacity is synonymous with happiness, which he saw as the fundamental purpose of education.

Makiguchi’s philosophy of Soka education has been given concrete expression through the Soka school system which Ikeda founded. At a more local level, many educators around the world, particularly Soka Gakkai members, have been inspired to apply Soka education principles in the contexts within which they work. Here, Heidy Saucedo, head of the educators division of SGI-Panama, describes how the division is exploring the application of Makiguchi’s ideas.

The basic aim of the educators division of SGI-Panama is to promote Soka education, which emphasizes that the fundamental purpose of education is the happiness of the human being.

All the topics discussed will be of great help in our work, as they allow the entire educational community involved in the learning process to focus on the purpose of life and of education—which comes down to happiness.

— G.I. Ortega

This perspective has the potential to generate positive change on a global scale. The division’s activities include study meetings for teachers, educational forums, teacher training seminars, workshops and exhibitions in schools. We work hand in hand with the Ministry of Education and are always seeking to work with those whose goal it is to improve the quality of education.

Our core objectives are to encourage the study of Tsunesaburo Makiguchi’s ideas and the promotion of humanism and a culture of peace. The division currently consists of around 100 teachers.

A Humanistic Vision

The global pandemic has forced changes in teaching modalities. As a response to these challenges, we decided to host a virtual teacher training seminar over five days in February 2021, which we entitled “Education in the New Era.”

A different, dynamic and, above all, motivating seminar. We learned about the mind-body connection and how to take care of our emotional selves, the importance of getting involved with the student and always having a smile on our face.”

— Z. Fernández

Our determination was to reach the heart of each teacher and inspire the conviction that, once we have decided to be involved in this endeavor of developing human beings, we must give our best, regardless of the circumstances.

More specifically, our vision was to create an impact in the educational community by empowering each teacher with a humanistic vision of value creation, aiming to effect an inner transformation in each individual and ignite a sense of purpose, which would benefit the entire community. Key focuses in this are promoting the idea that the happiness of students is the central point of education, as well as fostering children’s ability to maintain a harmonious relationship with their environment and contribute to their respective communities.

The seminar was endorsed by the Ministry of Education as part of the curricular plan to prepare educators before the start of the school year.

Each presentation was excellent. The methodology used made the topics very easy to comprehend. I especially appreciated the explanation of how we can control our emotions.

— D. Bonilla

Forty-three teachers from different schools participated, and there were 10 presenters from the educators division as well as a technological and logistical support group made up of members of SGI-Panama.

Seminars covered a wide range of topics, from communication to educational technology and virtual play activities.

Closing the seminar, SGI-Panama General Director Carlos Maires reiterated the wish of SGI-Panama to contribute positively to society, particularly in such an important field as education.

This was a very different kind of seminar with extremely interesting and varied topics relevant to our personal and professional growth.

— R.A. de Morales

He quoted Makiguchi’s conviction that “the aim of education is not to transfer knowledge; it is to guide the learning process, to equip the learner with the methods of research.” He went on to say that, for Makiguchi, education is about children’s happiness. It is a means to allow children to open their minds and interact creatively with their environment. These are sentiments that speak to the heart of our vision of empowering each individual to live happy, creative lives.

May 2021