渡过危机:应对疫情(1)

于户外戴着口罩的五个人,站在大纸箱的附近。
巴西SGI的代表赠送护面罩予一家位于里约热内卢的医院 (© 圣教新闻)

世界各地的创价学会团体皆受到2019冠状病毒病疫情的影响,然而每个团体均努力在这场挑战中创造价值。诚如创价学会会长原田稔表示:“佛法教示‘变毒为药’,也就是说即便在最黑暗、绝望的时刻,也能产生新的发展和可能性。我们坚信,这个充满希望的哲理能加强坚毅不屈的世界公民的纽带。”

创价学会(全球)英文Facebook页面的“渡过危机”系列介绍各地创价学会团体如何应对疫情。本文汇编自该系列,为两篇中的第一篇。

疫情对社会的影响

薛舜卿(新加坡创价学会妇人部部长):虽然时局艰辛,但是为了共渡难关,各个组织展开关心弱势群体的行动,在新加坡激起了行善事、和衷共济的正能量。

“”
薛舜卿 (© 圣教新闻)

疫情使人们倍感压力和焦虑。原本要出去上班的家长,现在和家中老小居家的时间变长,照顾他们的负担变重。在家工作的会员则是挑战如何平衡工作与家务,并且时常要协助孩子解决他们在居家学习时碰到的问题。

对抗2019冠状病毒病的战役中,目前约莫100名会员是医生和护士等专业医疗工作者,为数更多的会员担任医疗保健、拭子测试的助理以及行政人员。燃烧着必定要战胜这场健康危机的决心,竭尽全力,在前线日以继夜地奋战。

维谢什‧古普塔(Vishesh Gupta,印度创价学会主席):疫情使四分之一以上的人失业,重创印度经济。封锁期间,几百万从外地来的劳工没钱买食物,没有车搭,所以要回家真是难上加难。直到政府开始处理这件事前,许多工人得试图徒步回家。

“”
维谢什‧古普塔 (© 圣教新闻)

由于居家时间变长、失业率攀升、对未来感到渺茫等因素,家庭暴力和其他事件愈来愈常发生。这或许是印度特有的情况,大多中产及中产阶级以上的家庭通常仰赖家庭帮佣的协助,但如今因为封锁他们被迫要自己处理家务。面对这个新的负担是造成家庭失和的起因之一。对许多人而言,憋在家中使人越来越焦虑不安,导致焦虑、抑郁症状的恶化。

当整个社会处于如此艰难的情况,印度创价学会以“我战无不胜”(I am invincible)为座右铭,通过各式各样的活动和运动,竭尽所能传递希望,鼓励大家。

印度社会及经济遭受重创,而且今后恐怕会每况愈下。正因为如此,秉持日莲的著作和池田大作的指导,真诚温暖地鼓励、照顾友人及会员至关重要。

“”
阿尔贝托‧阿普雷亚 (© 圣教新闻)

阿尔贝托‧阿普雷亚(Alberto Aprea,意大利创价学会会长):每个人都因害怕被感染、对未来感到不安而很痛苦。2020年2月23日,政府一公布紧急措施,我们就暂停所有的会议及活动。我们也关闭所有中心,停止家庭访问。当时,只有部分地区遭受新型冠状病毒袭击,其他地方还安然无恙。然而,我们将公众及会员的性命放在第一位,依然选择于意大利各地采取一样的措施,是国内最早如此应对的宗教团体之一,媒体特别报导此事。此外,总理孔特(或称孔蒂)对我们贴心而温暖的行动、团结一致的精神、有责任感的态度表示赞赏。

疫情对组织的影响

海伦蔡(Helen Izumi-Choi,加拿大SGI妇人部部长):1987年,池田大作赠予加拿大会员一首诗,名为《悬挂尼亚加拉的彩虹》,里面写到:

“珍爱友人/无论是谁/均有无上使命/齐心协力/灌溉大地/使遍地开花/此乃吾等前进之道”

“”
海伦‧蔡 (© 圣教新闻)

许多人表示感到焦虑、孤独。我们决心要确保大家一同向前,没有任何人掉队,因此持续关心并全力鼓励每一个人。

我们充分利用线上平台举办会议。因为加拿大幅员辽阔,早在疫情之前,某些会议一直是在线上举办的。我们下功夫增进彼此之间的友谊,给予彼此更多的关爱及同理心,期许能超越无法实际见面的限制。为数不少的非会员投入线上会议,有些人已加入了我们的行列,大家同心协力创造的“心之财”不胜枚举。

贾丝廷‧麦钱特(Justine Merchant,英国SGI妇人部部长):我们知道,没有任何事可以阻挡我们前进的步伐、可以击溃我们!孩子还小的妈妈们再次出现在会议中,谈到比起从前,现在更容易参加会议了。有些妈妈是职业妇女,要兼顾在家教育孩子和线上工作。这些尊贵不凡的妇女掌握此时机深化信仰的心,让我感动不已。

许多会员都十分乐意找不同方式来创造归属感,联系彼此感情。然而,并非所有人都喜欢或可以上线,因此电话、简讯也十分重要。我们不断寻找能创造价值且安全的方式来鼓励彼此。

创价学会会员的故事

“”
平野‧梅丽 (© 圣教新闻)

平野‧梅丽(Meiry Hirano,巴西SGI妇人部部长):不少会员突破了困境。有一位干部经营制作成衣的家族企业,同时在另一家公司工作了15年。由于爆发疫情,家族企业的订单全被取消,也被效劳的公司免职。

由于口罩逐渐供不应求,全家认真地祈求后,决定制作口罩。来自全国各地的订单纷纷进来,如今,已经雇用了3位员工。他不仅将危机化为转机,而且还造福社区和社会整体。这位干部胸怀感恩的心,尽心尽力鼓励会员。

尤其是担任医生、护士的许多妇女会员,她们体现创价学会重视生命尊严的哲学,全心全意地照顾2019冠状病毒患者。我们每天都为前线工作者的安全及绝佳健康状态全力祈求。

“”
乌沙尼‧古林东巴色德 (© 圣教新闻)

乌沙尼‧古林东巴色德(Usanee Kulintornprasert,泰国创价学会妇人部部长):有一位经营旅馆和一家旅行社的会员,自2月以来,因疫情几乎没有营收,不得不关闭或暂停营业。她只能靠祈求了,她全力唱念“南无妙法莲华经”(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo),想尽办法改善现状。结果,她的旅馆被指定为国人自海外回国时,进行两周的检疫的设施,提供超过8百个房间。她不仅在政府的防疫举措上有所贡献,也得以改善财务状况。

另外,有一位经营餐厅的妇女,为脱离危机发挥创意,开始外送服务。

内雷奥‧奥尔达斯‧安苏雷斯(Nereo Ordaz Anzurez,墨西哥创价学会理事长):许多在医疗及社会其他领域的会员以信仰为根本,努力不懈。有一位会员在2019年12月完成护理学的学业,疫情一开始时,她被委派负责2019冠状病毒患者住院的事宜。工作中,她实践在创价学会活动中担任幕后志工时受到的训练,明朗的笑容、温暖的态度受到一家当地媒体报导。

“”
内雷奥‧奥尔达斯‧安苏雷斯
(© 圣教新闻)

有一位会员是餐厅老板,因疫情她无法供餐,面临财务危机。她以佛道修行为根本,涌现智慧,开始贩卖蔬果给左邻右舍、送到他们家及帮老年人买菜。在她的努力下,她脱离财务窘境,保住所有员工的工作。

另外,担任心理师、律师等专业的会员免费为有需求者提供服务,口罩和抗菌洗手凝胶制造商的老板则是捐赠自家产品给医院。只要是为了社会好,我们的会员无论身在何处,都不遗余力帮助身旁的人。

寻找疫情的意义

“”
贾丝廷‧麦钱特 (© 圣教新闻)

贾丝廷‧麦钱特(Justine Merchant,英国SGI妇人部部长):这真的是一场史无前例的挑战。全世界陷入水深火热的状态,而且似乎看不到尽头。人心亟需树立希望的哲学。社会各领域须以“生命尊严至上”精神作为基础。有任何时期比现在还更让我们感到其重要性吗?人间革命(人性变革)指自动自发的内在变革。大家因人间革命精神团结一致,社会各领域奉生命尊严至上的原则为圭臬──这样一来,我们就可以缔造一个“佛国土”,即一个引导所有人获得幸福的和平世界。

我们没办法什么都做,但每一个人都能做些什么。人人皆可发挥特质,于所在之处,为社会尽一份非自己莫属的力量。

期许有朝一日我生活的世界,生命尊严至上原则引领着各个领域的决策,如此一来,所有人都能过着智慧满盈、健康幸福的人生,齐心守护我们宝贵的星球。为此,我会永远和会员一同为和平奋斗。

乌沙尼‧古林东巴色德(Usanee Kulintornprasert,泰国创价学会妇人部部长):新型冠状病毒疫情如排山倒海而来,席卷全人类,很多人感到绝望。此时此刻,我重新将日莲著作中的这句话铭刻于心:“大恶起则大善来。”当然,这句话并非教导说坏事发生后,好事会自动找上门。日莲力图教示,我们绝对可以将任何苦痛转换为充满意义的大善事。在这里他向我们保证,在任何情况下,我们都能以强盛的信仰之心变毒为药。

“”
恩里克‧卡普托 (© 圣教新闻)

恩里克‧卡普托(Enrique Caputo,西班牙创价学会理事长):重要时刻挺身而起,按照池田大作所指导的奋斗,是在人生中获胜及缔造和平的关键。重要时刻无非就是现在这个前所未有的艰难时代。因此,我努力坚持并和会员分享这个精神。危机发生时,可以从一个人或团体如何表现、传递什么讯息给大众,看出其真正价值。池田先生教导,一个人的人间革命可以促进社会改变。西班牙创价学会全体同仁决心,贯彻佛法人本主义与池田先生的人间革命哲学,在社会里拓展希望和鼓励的纽带。

Facebook的“渡过危机”系列文章取自于2020年间,创价学会报纸《圣教新闻》上,以日文刊登的一系列世界各地创价学会团体领导人的访谈。

Rising from Crisis: Responding to the Pandemic (1)

Five people wearing masks outside standing around big cardboard box
BSGI representatives presenting face shields to a hospital in Rio de Janeiro [© Seikyo Shimbun]

The COVID-19 pandemic has affected Soka Gakkai organizations worldwide, which are striving to create value from this challenge. As Soka Gakkai President Harada has remarked, “We are determined that our hopeful, revitalizing philosophy of ‘changing poison into medicine,’ which teaches that even the darkest and most desperate of times can contain the seeds of new learning and possibility, will help strengthen humanity’s indomitable network of global citizens.”

This is the first of two articles compiled from the Rising from Crisis series published on the Soka Gakkai (global) Facebook page, giving an overview of how Soka Gakkai organizations are responding to the pandemic.


COVID-19’s Social Impact

Sek Soon Heng (women’s leader, Singapore Soka Association): Although this is a difficult time, initiatives by various organizations to reach out to vulnerable groups have sparked positive energy to do good and offer mutual support in order to get through this challenge together in Singapore.

“”
Sek Soon Heng [© Seikyo Shimbun]

It has had a psychological impact such as increasing stress and anxiety in families caused by looking after the elderly as well as young children at home, as working families now spend more time confined at home together. For members who work from home, there have been challenges in balancing their work demands, domestic responsibilities and their children’s repeated requests for help when they face issues with their home-based learning.

We currently have about one hundred members working as professional medical practitioners such as doctors and nurses, and many more as health care assistants, swab test assistants and administrators in the fight against COVID-19. They are all working extremely hard, stretching themselves over long hours on the front line with strong determination to win over this health crisis.


Vishesh Gupta (chairperson, Bharat [India] Soka Gakkai): The economic impact has been severe, forcing more than a quarter of the workforce out of their jobs. Millions of migrant workers had a lot of problems going back from the cities to their villages during the lockdown because they didn’t have money to buy food, they didn’t have the transport. Many of them traveled on foot till the government started making arrangements.

“”
Vishesh Gupta [© Seikyo Shimbun]

We have seen a rise in domestic violence and other problems due to prolonged confinement at home, increased unemployment and a sense of uncertainty about the future. And this may be a uniquely Indian situation, but most families in the middle class and above usually rely on domestic help, and they are now being forced to take care of household work themselves because of the lockdown. The unfamiliar burden is among the causes of domestic discord. Being stuck in their homes is increasing worry and anxiety for many, often leading to more severe forms of anxiety and depression.

In these times, when society as a whole is experiencing such a difficult situation, we of Bharat Soka Gakkai are exerting ourselves to spread hope and extend encouragement through various activities and campaigns with the motto “I am invincible.”

Indian society is going through major social and economic damage, which is likely to escalate going forward. That is exactly why it is crucially important to encourage and take care of our friends and fellow members with sincerity and compassion based on the writings of Nichiren and Daisaku Ikeda’s guidance.

“”
Alberto Aprea [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Alberto Aprea (president, Soka Gakkai Italy): Everyone is struggling with the fear of infection and an uncertain future. As soon as the government introduced the emergency measures on February 23, 2020, we canceled all meetings and activities. We also closed all community centers and stopped home visits. At that stage, the new coronavirus had only affected some regions while others still had no one infected. But we chose to take the same measures nationwide, to put the lives of the public and members first. The fact that we were among the first religious groups in the country to respond in this way was taken up by the media. Prime Minister Conte expressed admiration for our humanistic action, solidarity and sense of responsibility.


On the Pandemic’s Organizational Impact

Helen Izumi-Choi (women’s leader, SGI-Canada): Daisaku Ikeda dedicated to Canadian members the poem titled “A Rainbow over Niagara” in 1987, in which he writes:

“You must treasure each and every friend, / No matter what, / For everyone has his or her own supreme mission; / By working together we cultivate and / Bring it to fruition – / This is the formula for our advancement.”

“”
Helen Izumi-Choi [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Our determination has been to reach out and wholeheartedly encourage each and every person, to ensure that everyone advances together and make sure no one is left behind, knowing that many have been feeling anxious and isolated.

We have been fully utilizing online platforms to hold meetings. Since Canada is such a vast country, we had already been holding certain types of meetings online well before the pandemic started. We have tried our best to transcend physical limitations by strengthening and deepening our bonds of friendship, care and compassion through every means possible. We have created countless “treasures of the heart” with one another, with many guests attending our online meetings, and there are now new members joining.

Justine Merchant (women’s leader, SGI-UK): We have learned that we can’t be stopped and won’t be defeated! We have also seen people such as mothers of young children return to meetings, sharing that they’ve been able to access meetings more easily than before. Some are working mothers juggling homeschooling and online work from home. I am deeply moved by the efforts of these dignified, extraordinary women who are using this time to deepen their faith.

Many members are expressing deep appreciation for finding ways to feel and be connected. However, not everyone enjoys or has access to this approach, so phone calls and messages are also vital. We are constantly finding creative and safe ways to encourage one another.


Soka Gakkai Members’ Experiences

“”
Meiry Hirano [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Meiry Hirano (women’s leader, Brazil Soka Gakkai International): We are witnessing a number of experiences from members who have been able to surmount their tough situations. A leader who runs a family business of garment manufacturing and had also worked for a company for 15 years had all his orders in the family business canceled and was also fired from the company due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

His entire family prayed earnestly and decided to manufacture face masks, as a mask shortage was becoming a problem. He began to receive orders from around the country and has now hired three employees. This has not only enabled him to transform this crisis into an opportunity but also to make a contribution to his community and society at large. With a sense of gratitude, he is exerting himself to encourage his fellow members.

Many members, especially the women, are fighting wholeheartedly to care for COVID-19 patients as doctors and nurses, embracing the Soka Gakkai’s philosophy of valuing the dignity of life. We are fervently praying every day for the safety and excellent health of these frontline workers.

“”
Usanee Kulintornprasert [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Usanee Kulintornprasert (women’s leader, Soka Gakkai Thailand ): A member who runs hotels and a travel agency has had little income since February due to the pandemic, and she was forced to shut down or temporarily close her businesses. Determined that she had only prayer to rely on now, she fervently chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo and did everything she could to improve the situation. As a result, her hotels were selected as accommodation for the two-week quarantine of Thai citizens returning from overseas, with more than eight hundred rooms used for this purpose. She was able make a contribution to the government’s prevention efforts and be protected financially at the same time.

Another woman, who runs restaurants, used her ingenuity to find a way out of the crisis by starting a meal delivery service.

Nereo Ordaz Anzurez (general director, Soka Gakkai of Mexico): Many of our members are exerting themselves based on faith in healthcare and other sectors of society. One member completed her studies in nursing in December 2019, and, at the beginning of the pandemic, she was placed in the position to receive COVID-19 patients for hospitalization. She put her training as a behind-the-scenes volunteer for Soka Gakkai activities into practice in her work, and her cheerful and humane treatment was recognized in a local newscast.

“”
Nereo Ordaz Anzurez [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Another member who owns a restaurant faced a financial crisis as she was not able to offer food service due to the pandemic. She used wisdom based on her Buddhist practice and began selling fruits and vegetables to neighbors in the community, delivering to their homes and doing grocery shopping for the elderly. Her efforts transformed her financial situation, enabling her to keep all the jobs for her employees.

We have other professional members such as psychologists and lawyers who offer their service free of charge to people in need, as well as business owners who produce masks and antibacterial gel and donate them to hospitals. All our members are taking action wherever they are to help people in their community, for the sake of society.

Making Sense of the Pandemic

“”
Justine Merchant [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Justine Merchant (women’s leader, SGI-UK): This really is an unprecedented challenge. The suffering is devastating and seems to continue ceaselessly. A philosophy of hope is keenly needed now. Has there ever been a clearer moment when “respect for the dignity of life” as the foundation of all areas of society is required? By developing a solidarity rooted in human revolution—a self-motivated inner change—and establishing respect for the dignity of life as the guiding principle in every field of society, we can create “the Buddha land”—a peaceful world leading all people to happiness.

We can’t all do everything, but we can each do something, making our own unique contribution to society in the place and way only we can.

My determination for the future is to continue to work for peace together with my fellow members and to live in a world where respect for the dignity of life drives decision-making in every field of society so that all people can live wise, happy, strong lives in stewardship of our precious planet.

Usanee Kulintornprasert (women’s leader, Soka Gakkai Thailand): The novel coronavirus pandemic is an overwhelming catastrophe confronting the whole of humanity, and many people are losing a sense of hope. At this time, I am deeply engraving in my life once more this passage from Nichiren’s writings, “When great evil occurs, great good follows.” Clearly, this teaching does not mean that something good will automatically follow something bad. Nichiren Daishonin is trying to show us that any suffering can certainly be transformed into something meaningful and into great good. I think he is assuring us here that with strong faith, we can change poison into medicine in any situation.

“”
Enrique Caputo [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Enrique Caputo (general director, Soka Gakkai of Spain): The key to triumph in life and the creation of peace lies in standing up resolutely at the crucial moment, a time of unprecedented difficulty such as the present, and striving in accordance with Daisaku Ikeda’s guidance. So I try to keep this attitude and share it with my fellow members. In a crisis, we can tell the true value of an individual or a group from how they behave and what kind of message they convey to the public. We of the Soka Gakkai of Spain are determined to expand the solidarity of hope and encouragement in society, upholding Buddhist humanism and Mr. Ikeda’s philosophy of human revolution—the power of individual transformation to affect societal change.

The Rising from Crisis Facebook series was based on a series of interviews with leaders of various Soka Gakkai organizations around the world carried out over the course of 2020 and published in Japanese in the Seikyo Shimbun, the Soka Gakkai’s newspaper.