鼓勵年輕女性成為領袖

艾薇‧庫克 SGI聯合國相關事務辦事處
「年輕女性領袖」項目小冊子的封面照片。

任職於SGI聯合國相關事務辦事處的艾薇‧庫克(Ivy Koek)介紹在2018年啟動的「年輕女性領袖」項目,以及年輕女性在決定世界樣貌之上所扮演的重要角色。

性別平等並非侷限於女性的課題,而是與每一個人息息相關。從結果來看,為推動婦女及女童的人權所付出的所有努力,都有助於全體人類的福祉。

為什麼需要女性來領導?

國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)推動多項培育女性領導力的活動,其立足點就在於相信女性擁有引導人類邁向和平的力量。池田大作SGI會長在2000年提出的《和平倡言》中,概述了女性在建構和平之上所扮演的角色:在女性的帶領下,如果每一個人都能覺醒並努力投入,就能阻止社會重新陷入戰爭的文化,促成並孕育一股朝向建立和平世紀的動力。

五位女性帶著笑容並排合影。
2020年,艾薇‧庫克(左)在紐約舉辦的第64屆婦女地位委員會會議期間留影。

多年來,女性在各個聯合國進程中的參與及領導備受肯定,像是可持續發展目標、聯合國安全理事會於2000年10月通過的第1325號決議,以及在1995年通過、特別著墨於年輕女性角色的《北京宣言》和《行動綱要》。年輕女性是大有可為的璞玉,擁有帶來改革以及領導的潛力。

分享年輕女性的故事

以分享信仰經驗的形式來講述自己的故事,是創價學會的傳統,另一項傳統則是培育領導人,尤其是青年領導人。作為「年輕女性領袖」項目的一部分,我們希望分享年輕女性的故事,她們透過克服艱難的處境,對社會做出貢獻,並且展現出領導的能力。

年輕女性是大有可為的璞玉,擁有帶來改革以及領導的潛力。

SGI聯合國相關事務辦事處蒐集了15篇來自全球各地的故事,其中有創價學會會員、伙伴組織、世界基督教女青年會以及婦女和平建設者全球網絡,這是由分布在世界上面臨人道危機的國家、超過100個女性人權組織組成的聯盟。我們希望藉此了解,這些年輕女性如何透過個人的發展與變革,變得更有自信,鼓勵自己和他人,並在生活以及工作場域中帶來正面的改變。

每一位故事的主人翁都展現了不被環境打敗且堅定不移的姿態,她們也都表示,為了對他人作出貢獻,自己便燃起動力堅持下去:

「我真心覺得,自己的成功,歸因於為了幫助他人而挑戰自我的過程。我找到了面對恐懼與缺乏自我價值的方法,進而令我勇於追求夢想,並得到不可思議的收穫。」

另一個奮鬥的動力來自於精神層面或是宗教的修行:

「在人生的谷底時,佛法修行讓我產生信心,去開始播下充滿希望的種子。我聽到內心一個強而有力的聲音,鼓勵自己去攻讀音樂創作的碩士學位。」

一位參與者分享了如何察覺到自己的志業所在:

「回想起2011年那天襲擊家鄉的大地震以及大海嘯,當時的我並不知道這整件事對自己會有怎樣的影響。但是我現在理解到,家鄉東北的人們超越困境並在災難後努力活下來的姿態,激勵了我,使我找到自己的志業所在,就是成為協助他人的看護者。無論未來如何發展,我會活用自身經驗,持續學習,成長為一位溫暖且富有同理心、優先考量他人的領導人。」

新的概念──21世紀所需要的領導能力

一位獨立研究人員針對這些故事提出定性(或稱質化)分析的報告,並將結果歸類成三個主題:領袖特質;動力、挑戰、突破與成就;最後是自信心。這些年輕女性呈現出來的領袖特質被歸類為:

  • 勇氣
  • 服務的精神
  • 使命感
  • 慈悲
  • 自覺
  • 意志力

這份報告指出,以上這些人格特質符合了人稱「21世紀所需要的領導能力」(21st century leadership)的特徵,當我們在構思21世紀所需要的領導能力時,這些都是不可缺少的元素。儘管這些特質與創價學會會員在日常生活中努力體現的佛法價值觀一致,卻不是一般人會與領導力聯想在一起的、也不是常常被展現出來的能力。

上述的報告中還提到,在領導的歷程中,成就、突破和自信心有著直接的關係,且相互影響。促成這份緊密聯繫的,是服務的精神以及人生的目的。

內在變革與領導力

池田會長在2012年的環境倡言中,闡述了與這樣的領導歷程不謀而合的內在變革:「佛法教導,從根本上解決苦難的力量就存在於每個人的身上。人人都含有無限的可能性,只要覺醒到這一點,並把它發揮出來,就能改變自己人生,引導周圍的人走向『幸福』與『安心』的方向。在如此一個偉大的人性復甦過程中,自己的苦惱,將成為使社會變得更美好的動力。」

年輕女性已經在她們的工作場所起到領導作用……她們整體擁有改變世界的潛力。

每位女性的故事都述說了她們為了造福他人,改變自己及處境的個人內在變革。

這些故事旨在為年輕女性讀者帶來啟發與希望。除此之外,我們也希望在聯合國相關人士中廣泛分享,因為她們展示了有主體性的年輕女性如何克服性別歧視和社會上的既有規範,並透過採取行動帶來改變。藉此,我們想要展現,年輕女性已經在她們的工作場所起到領導作用,以及她們整體擁有改變世界的潛力。

[2021年12月]

Empowering Young Women to Lead

Ivy Koek, SGI Office for UN Affairs
Cover photo from the Young Women’s Stories project pamphlet

Ivy Koek of the SGI Office for UN Affairs talks about the “Young Women’s Stories—Fostering Leadership” project that was launched in 2018 and the essential role young women play in shaping the world.

Gender equality is for everyone, it is not limited to women alone. Ultimately, efforts to advance the human rights of women and girls contribute to the welfare of all people.

Why Women’s Leadership?

The SGI (Soka Gakkai International)’s activities to foster women’s leadership is rooted in the belief that women have the power to guide humanity to peace. Daisaku Ikeda, SGI president, outlines the role of women for peace in his 2000 peace proposal: “With women leading the way, when each and every person is aware and committed, we will be able to prevent society from relapsing into the culture of war, and foster and nurture energy toward the creation of a century of peace.”

Five women in a row smiling at the camera
Ivy Koek (left) during the 64th session of the Commission on the Status of Women held in New York in 2020

Women’s participation and leadership have been recognized in various United Nations processes over the years. These include the Sustainable Development Goals, the UN Security Council Resolution 1325 (October 2000) and the Beijing Platform for Action (BPfA) that was adopted in 1995 and specifically identifies the role of young women. Young women are an untapped resource with enormous potential to be change agents and leaders.

Sharing Young Women’s Stories

Storytelling, in the form of faith experiences, is a Soka Gakkai tradition, as is fostering leaders—particularly youth leaders. As part of the “Young Women’s Stories—Fostering Leadership” project, we wanted to share the stories of young women who, through a process of overcoming challenging circumstances, have contributed to society and exhibited leadership.

Young women are an untapped resource with enormous potential to be change agents and leaders.

The SGI Office for UN Affairs collected 15 stories from around the world—from Soka Gakkai members, partner organizations, the World YWCA and the Global Network of Women Peacebuilders (GNWP), a coalition of over 100 women’s rights organizations worldwide in countries experiencing humanitarian crises. Through this endeavor, we hoped to understand how personal development and transformation can help young women gain confidence, empower themselves and others and make a positive difference where they live and work.

The women in our stories all showed how they remained undefeated by their circumstances and stayed focused. They all expressed that they were motivated to keep persevering on behalf of others:

“I truly feel that my success is the result of challenging myself for the sake of others. I found ways to face my fears and lack of self-worth, and this, in turn, enabled me to follow my own dreams and reap such wonderful benefits.”

Another motivator for many was a spiritual or religious practice:

“At this low point in my life, my Buddhist practice helped give me the confidence to start sowing hope-filled seeds. I felt a strong inner voice encouraging me to pursue a Master’s in music composition.”

One participant shares how she was led to her calling:

“When I think back to the day when that devastating [2011] earthquake and tsunami hit my town, I could never have known what an impact it would have on me. But now I realize that watching the people here in Tohoku overcome their hardships and survive the disaster inspired me and helped me find my calling helping others as a caretaker. No matter where my future takes me, I know I will use my experiences to continue to grow as a leader, putting others first with empathy and kindness.”

A New Approach: 21st Century Leadership

An independent researcher compiled a qualitative analysis report on the stories. The findings from the report were grouped under three themes: qualities of leadership; motivation, challenges, breakthroughs and accomplishments; and self-confidence. Qualities of leadership displayed by the young women were identified as:

  • courage,
  • a sense of service,
  • mission driven,
  • compassion,
  • self-awareness, and
  • grit.

The report noted that these qualities characterize what is called “21st century leadership,” which is seen as essential to the ways in which we conceptualize leadership in the 21st century. Such qualities resonate with the Buddhist values that Soka Gakkai members strive each day to embody. This, however, is not the skill set most people associate with leadership and not one that is often displayed.

The report also found that in the leadership journey, accomplishments and breakthroughs are directly connected to self-confidence (one impacts the other). What fuels this is a sense of service and purpose.

Inner Transformation and Leadership

In his 2012 environment proposal, President Ikeda captures the process of inner transformation which reflects this leadership journey: “Buddhism teaches that the means to fundamentally overcome our suffering do not exist outside ourselves. Through the process of awakening to and fully manifesting our unlimited inner potential, we are transformed in a way that enables us to lead others to happiness and security. This great inner transformation enables us to make our own suffering the impetus to improve society.”

Young women are already leading in their workplaces and . . . have the potential to change the world.

Each woman’s story speaks to the personal inner process of the individual to transform themselves and their situations in order to contribute to the welfare of others.

The stories are intended to be a source of inspiration and hope for other young women who read them. Additionally, we hope to widely share these stories among our UN community, as they demonstrate young women with agency overcoming sexism and social norms and taking action as change agents. In this way, we hope to show how young women are already leading in their workplaces and how, collectively, they have the potential to change the world.

December 2021