戶田城聖

戶田城聖(1900年-1958年)是一名教育家和企業家,並曾經營出版事業。他在第二次世界大戰後出任創價學會第二任會長,使這個在戰後一度衰微的組織再次興起,成為一個蓬勃發展的民眾運動。

與師相遇

“”
牧口(右)與戶田(左),1930年 (© 聖教新聞)

戶田十九歲時從北海道來到東京,在牧口常三郎(1871年-1944年)擔任校長的學校執教。他對牧口的教育理念深為敬佩認同,決定成為牧口的門生。1928年,他跟隨牧口歸依日蓮佛法。之後,師徒兩人共同創立了創價教育學會,是為創價學會的前身。戶田繼而擔任理事長一職,以此身分,戶田協助牧口,致力推廣教育改革與宗教改革。

獄中的戶田

“”
戶田在監牢裡用牛奶瓶蓋自製的念珠 (© 聖教新聞)

第二次世界大戰期間,日本軍國主義政府加強對日本社會的控制,強行壓制一切含有異議的言論。1943年,牧口和戶田因堅決不與政府的政策妥協而被捕入獄。在長達2年的監禁中,戶田潛心鑽研和修行日蓮佛法,深入探究其中的奧義。

他研精苦思,終於對「萬人皆懷佛性」的佛法奧義有了更深切的理解。這使他堅信,日蓮佛法明示了開啟此佛性之道。透過獄中悟達,戶田建立起對日蓮佛法堅定不移的信念,並決心將宣揚日蓮佛法教義作為自己的使命。

重建創價學會

“”
戶田主持日蓮佛法教學講座 (© 聖教新聞)

在第二次世界大戰接近尾聲時,戶田獲釋出獄。他致力重建創價教育學會,並將之改名為創價學會。

戶田教導,通過佛道修行,人們可以推進自身的「人間革命」(人性變革),進而轉變自己的宿命。戰後不久的日本,處處皆是苦於貧困、疾病的人民。對許多人而言,戶田對日蓮佛法的詮釋,正是他們熱切盼望將困境扭轉的心所急欲尋找的。

戶田對日蓮佛法持有不移的堅信。他深入淺出地解釋如何將佛法深奧的原理應用在日常生活之中,重新點燃了人們心中的希望和勇氣。

在戶田的領導下創價學會飛躍發展,直至戶田1958年逝世之前,實現了會員數達75萬戶的目標,奠定了日蓮佛法後來在日本全國及海外發展的基礎。

和平遺志

“”
1957年9月8日於橫濱的三澤體育場,戶田在5萬名創價學會青年的面前呼籲徹底消除核武器 (© 聖教新聞)

戶田堅決反對核武器的態度對世間影響極大。1957年,他發表了《禁止原子彈氫彈宣言》,指出核武器是冒瀆生命尊嚴、威脅人類生存權利的「絕對惡」,並呼籲當時的創價學會青年為廢除核武器傾注全力。這成為了創價學會和平運動的原點。

為了發揚戶田的遺願,身為弟子的池田大作在1996年於東京創辦了戶田紀念國際和平研究所(昔戶田全球和平與政策研究所)。研究所的目的在於結集和平學家、負責制定政策的策劃人員等,推進與「建設和平」、「對話」等有關的研究計畫。

戶田城聖網站閱讀更多內容

[2020年11月]

Josei Toda

Josei Toda (1900–58) was an educator, publisher and entrepreneur who, as second president of the Soka Gakkai, revived the organization after World War II, building it into a dynamic, popular movement.

Encountering his Mentor

“”
Makiguchi (right) and Toda (left), 1930 [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Arriving in Tokyo from the northern island of Hokkaido at the age of 19, Toda found a teaching post at the school where Tsunesaburo Makiguchi (1871–1944) was principal. Impressed by Makiguchi’s educational ideals, he soon became his protégé. In 1928, he followed Makiguchi in his decision to practice Nichiren Buddhism. The two later cofounded the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai (Society for Value-creating Education), forerunner of the Soka Gakkai, with Toda becoming its general director. In this capacity, Toda supported Makiguchi and devoted his energies to promoting educational and religious reform.

Imprisonment

“”
Prayer beads Toda made from milk-bottle tops while in prison [© Seikyo Shimbun]

In 1943, as Japan’s militarist authorities tightened control over society and suppressed dissidents, Makiguchi and Toda were arrested and imprisoned for opposing the government’s policies. During his two years of incarceration, Toda devoted himself to the practice and study of Buddhism, gaining a profound grasp of its principles.

His efforts brought him to a clear realization that Buddhahood is a potential inherent in all life and deepened his confidence that all people can manifest this enlightened life condition through practicing Nichiren’s teachings. Through this profound spiritual awakening in prison, Toda developed unshakable conviction in Nichiren Buddhism and in his mission to spread its teachings.

Building the Soka Gakkai

“”
Toda lecturing on the writings of Nichiren [© Seikyo Shimbun]

On his release from prison toward the end of World War II, Toda began to reconstruct the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai, renaming it the Soka Gakkai (Society for the Creation of Value).

Toda taught that through Buddhist practice and inner-motivated change, or “human revolution,” all people can change their destiny for the better. This message resonated powerfully among the many people suffering from poverty, illness and other challenges in the chaos of postwar Japan.

Moreover, Toda’s unshakable confidence in the power of Nichiren’s philosophy, together with his own ability to translate the profound concepts of Buddhism into practical guidance for daily life, reignited people’s hope and courage.

By the time of his death in 1958, Toda had achieved his goal of expanding the organization’s membership to 750,000 households and had laid the foundation for the dramatic spread of Buddhism in Japan and abroad.

Peace Legacy

“”
Toda calling for the abolition of nuclear weapons on September 8, 1957, at a meeting of 50,000 members of the Soka Gakkai’s youth division at Mitsuzawa Stadium, Yokohama [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Toda is also remembered for his uncompromising stance against nuclear weapons, which he condemned as an absolute evil that threatens people’s inalienable right to life. He urged the youth members of the Soka Gakkai at the time to work for the abolition of nuclear weapons. His 1957 Declaration Calling for the Abolition of Nuclear Weapons is considered the inspiration for the Soka Gakkai’s peace activities.

In honor of Toda’s ideals, in 1996, his successor, Daisaku Ikeda, founded the Toda Peace Institute (formerly the Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research) in Tokyo. The institute brings peace researchers, policymakers and community activists together on projects related to peacebuilding and dialogue.

Read more on the Josei Toda Website

[November 2020]