創價學會的歷史

牧口常三郎(坐著)和戶田城聖
創價學會是源自深受日蓮佛法哲學的啟發,以教育改革為目標的教育家團體。創辦人牧口常三郎首任會長(1871-1944),為使人們能度過充實幸福的人生而積極展開活動。在第二次世界大戰期間,牧口勇敢地對抗日本軍國主義政府的思想統制,和弟子戶田城聖(1900-1958)一起被捕入獄,因營養失調和衰老,在監獄中逝世。活著走出監獄的戶田,決心要使苦於戰後餘波的人們獲得蘇生而重建創價學會,推進佛教運動。繼承戶田宏願的池田大作(1928-),和遍及世界各國的會員一起,使和平、文化、教育運動得以在多方面發展。
1930 ~ 1937

教育改革

教育改革(1930-1937)

  • 1930年 | 創立創價學會

    牧口(中央左)和學生們

    創價學會創立於1930年11月18日,當時為教育家的研究團體「創價教育學會」。創辦人牧口常三郎首任會長是作家、教育家,深受日蓮佛法的啟發,將熱情傾注於日本的教育改革。牧口提倡的創價教育理論,重點在於培養每一個兒童的獨立思考能力、啟發他們的無限可能性。

    1930年11月18日,牧口的著作《創價教育學體系》第一冊問世,創價學會把這一天定為創立紀念日。

1937 ~ 1945

對抗軍國主義政府

對抗軍國主義政府(1937-1945)

  • 1937年 | 以建設更好的社會為目標

    牧口(前排中)與創價教育學會成員,1941年於九州福岡

    牧口的教育觀,不是提倡灌輸知識,而是重視培養主動的思考能力,與當時政府培養為國家效力人才的教育方針相對立。牧口和戶田城聖,把當初以教育改革為目標的教育家團體創價教育學會發展至擁有數千人的組織,弘揚日蓮佛法,透過個人內在變革來建設一個更好的社會。

  • 1943年 | 對抗國家的鎮壓

    牧口在類似的牢房迎接人生最後階段

    二十世紀三十年代傾向軍國主義的日本於1941年參加第二次世界大戰。政府為讚美和推動侵略戰爭,強制國民信奉國家神道,鎮壓所有的反對派。拒絕放棄自己的信仰來順從政府的牧口和戶田,於1943年被冠上「思想犯」的罪名遭逮捕入獄。這場鎮壓,實際上毀滅了創價學會組織。

  • 1944年 | 牧口常三郎逝世

    牧口毫不動搖地面對迫使他放棄信仰的獄中審訊,始終貫徹自己的信念,於日本戰敗的前一年1944年11月18日在獄中逝世。

1945 ~ 1960

戰後的重建

戰後的重建(1945-1960)

  • 1945年 | 促進參與社會活動的佛法

    1954年,戶田主持日蓮佛法教學講座

    戶田城聖忍受監獄生活,於終戰前的1945年7月3日出獄。戶田在獄中反復精讀《法華經》,勤於唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題),領會到「佛」就是生命本身,更加確信向世界弘揚《法華經》精髓正是自己的使命,決心為此奉獻終身。

    在戰後的混亂中,戶田著手重建創價學會,於1951年就任第二任會長,提出要通過開展積極參與社會活動的佛法實踐,實現自强,即從我們生命深處湧現出克服人生困難的力量、希望、自信、勇氣、智慧。

    戶田用「人間革命」(人性變革)一詞來表達日蓮佛法的核心理念。「誰都能使人生往好的方向改變,一生中必定能在我們生命中顯現出佛的智慧和境界」,這理念尤其撼動了在社會上處於弱勢人們的心,會員人數迅速增加。

  • 1957年 | 呼籲廢除核武器

    戶田(右)與池田(1958年3月16日)

    1957年9月8日,戶田立足於捍衛人類的生存權利,發表《禁止原子彈氫彈宣言》,堅決呼籲廢除核武器,並將核武器敘述為潛藏在人生命中的黑暗面。同時,他呼籲創價學會的青年們要開展廢除核武器運動,這成為至今仍在持續的和平運動的原點。

    在1958年3月16日舉行的儀式上,戶田把創價學會的未來托付給青年。在眾多青年當中,他心愛的弟子池田大作總是率先全力以赴地把日蓮佛法哲學向廣大民眾言傳身教,於是他成為了下一任創價學會的領導人。

    戶田於1958年4月2日逝世之前,構築了在日本全國擁有75萬戶會員的創價學會這一大民眾運動。

1960 ~ 1990

國際性發展

國際性發展(1960-1990)

  • 1960年 | 展開全球性運動

    1960年10月2日,池田踏上走訪世界各地的第一步

    1960年,32歲的池田大作繼承戶田就任創價學會會長。池田在確立日本創價學會構成的同時,他走訪各國,不間斷地親自鼓勵在海外生活的學會草創會員,奠定全球性運動的基礎。受到池田鼓勵的會員們,作為各國、各地區的先驅大顯身手,世界的會員規模不斷擴大。

    池田為締結和平網絡,在文化、藝術、和平研究、教育等各個領域創立許多關聯團體與機構。

  • 1975年 | 全球性組織

    池田在成立「國際創價學會」時發表演說

    1975年成立「國際創價學會」,作為一個全球性組織,聯繫於世界各地獨立運作的創價學會團體,池田就任會長一職。

    1983年,國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)被登錄為具有與聯合國經濟及社會理事會協議資格的非政府組織。

    1995年通過的《SGI憲章》表明「國際創價學會」決心為世界和平奮鬥不懈,以生命尊嚴理念和日蓮佛法哲理為宗旨,致力於和平、文化及教育。

1990 ~ 現在

奠定亙及未來的發展基礎

奠定亙及未來的發展基礎(1990-現在)

  • 1991年 | 「精神獨立」

    來自世界各地的創價學會會員齊聚在新落成的廣宣流布誓願堂

    1991年11月,一直以來為日蓮正宗發展竭盡全力的創價學會,脫離阿部日顯執著於權威主義的宗門,實現了「精神獨立」。

    從宗門的枷鎖中解放出來的創價學會,尊重各國各地區的文化傳統,靈活地對應現代價值觀,至2008年已發展至世界192個國家和地區。

    2013年11月,廣宣流布誓願堂在東京信濃町創價學會總部落成。日本與來自世界各地的創價學會會員濟濟一堂唱題,重新立下和平的誓願,互相加深推廣使人自強的日蓮佛法哲理的決心。

  • 2017年 | 《創價學會憲章》

    2017年11月10日,來自70個國家與地區的代表出席了《創價學會憲章》的批准儀式

    2017年,創價學會通過了新憲章,闡明三任會長的重要性、本組織的核心教義與全球運作的規程,及為和平與人類幸福致力發揚日蓮佛法教義的宗旨。

History of the Soka Gakkai

Tsunesaburo Makiguchi (seated) and Josei Toda
The Soka Gakkai began as an organization of reformist Japanese educators inspired by the philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism. Its founder and first president, Tsunesaburo Makiguchi (1871–1944), was driven by a passion to enable people to lead fulfilled and happy lives. During World War II, he was imprisoned with his protégé, Josei Toda (1900–58), by the Japanese militarist government for opposing its policies. Makiguchi died in prison from malnutrition and old age, while Toda emerged to rebuild the Soka Gakkai as a Buddhist movement to empower people suffering in the aftermath of the war. Daisaku Ikeda (1928– ) inherited Toda’s vision, going on to develop the organization into a multifaceted movement for peace, culture and education with members around the world.
1930 ~ 1937

Educational Reform

Educational Reform (1930–1937)

  • 1930 | Soka Gakkai founded

    Makiguchi (center left) with students

    The Soka Gakkai (literally “Society for the Creation of Value”) was founded on November 18, 1930, as a study group of educators. It was initially called the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai (Society for Value-Creating Education). Its founder and first president, Tsunesaburo Makiguchi, was an author and educator inspired by Nichiren Buddhism and passionately dedicated to the reform of Japanese education. His theory of value-creating education was focused on the development of independent thinking and the unlimited potential of every child.

    November 18, 1930, the date of the publication of the first volume of Makiguchi’s Soka kyoikugaku taikei (The System of Value-Creating Pedagogy), has come to be regarded as the founding day of the Soka Gakkai.

1937 ~ 1945

Opposition to
Military Government

Opposition to Military Government (1937–1945)

  • 1937 | Social Reform

    Makiguchi with members of the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai in Fukuoka, Kyushu, 1941 (front row, center)

    Makiguchi’s emphasis on independent thinking over rote learning in education challenged the Japanese authorities of the time, who saw the role of education as molding docile servants of the state. Makiguchi and his closest associate, Josei Toda, led the development of the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai from its origins as a group of educators dedicated to educational reform into an organization with a broader membership of several thousand, with a focus on the propagation of Nichiren Buddhism as a means to reform society through individual transformation.

  • 1943 | Fighting government oppression

    A prison cell similar to the one where Makiguchi spent the last days of his life

    The 1930s had seen the rise of militaristic nationalism in Japan, culminating in Japan’s entry into World War II in 1941. The government imposed the State Shinto religion on the population as a means of glorifying its war of aggression and cracked down on all forms of dissidence. The refusal of Makiguchi and Toda to compromise their beliefs and lend support to the regime led to their arrest and imprisonment in 1943 as “thought criminals.” Due to government suppression, the organization was effectively crushed.

  • 1944 | Death of Tsunesaburo Makiguchi

    Despite attempts by his interrogators to persuade him from his principles, Makiguchi held fast to his convictions and died in prison on November 18, 1944.

1945 ~ 1960

Postwar Reconstruction

Postwar Reconstruction (1945–1960)

  • 1945 | Active, socially engaged Buddhism

    Toda lecturing on the writings of Nichiren, 1954

    Josei Toda survived and was released from prison on July 3, 1945, shortly before the war ended. While in prison, Toda had studied the Lotus Sutra and chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo intensely, reaching the revolutionary insight that “the Buddha” is life itself. He developed the conviction that it was his mission to spread the message of the Lotus Sutra as widely as possible and resolved to dedicate the remainder of his life to this endeavor.

    Toda set out to rebuild the Soka Gakkai amid the confusion of postwar Japan and became its second president in 1951. He promoted an active, socially engaged practice of Buddhism as a means of self-empowerment—a way to overcome obstacles in life and tap inner hope, confidence, courage and wisdom.

    Toda used the term “human revolution” to express the central idea of Nichiren Buddhism: that all people can change their lives for the better and attain enlightenment in this lifetime. This message resonated especially among the most disenfranchised of Japanese society, and membership grew rapidly.

  • 1957 | Call for nuclear abolition

    Toda (right) with Ikeda on March 16, 1958

    On September 8, 1957, forcefully proclaiming that all human beings have an inviolable right to live, Toda made an impassioned declaration calling for the abolition of nuclear weapons, which he described as a manifestation of the darkest aspects of the human heart. He asked the youth of the Soka Gakkai to work for their abolition, and this became the symbolic start of the organization’s activities for peace.

    In a ceremony on March 16, 1958, Toda entrusted the future development of the Soka Gakkai to the youth of the organization. Among the youth, his closest follower, Daisaku Ikeda, who had spearheaded efforts to spread the philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism, emerged as the future leader of the organization.

    By the time of his death on April 2, 1958, Toda had led the transformation of the Soka Gakkai into a dynamic movement with a membership of over 750,000 households throughout Japan.

1960 ~ 1990

International Expansion

International Expansion (1960–1990)

  • 1960 | A worldwide movement

    Ikeda embarks on his first trip abroad on October 2, 1960

    Toda was succeeded as president in 1960 by Daisaku Ikeda, then aged 32. Ikeda solidified the structure of the Soka Gakkai in Japan and also started to build the foundations of a global movement, traveling overseas to meet with and encourage the first Soka Gakkai members living outside Japan. These members pioneered the development of the Soka Gakkai in their various countries, leading to the growth of an international membership.

    To help build solidarity for peace, Ikeda also founded a number of affiliated institutions in the fields of culture and the arts, peace research and education.

  • 1975 | A global association

    Ikeda speaking at the founding of the SGI

    In 1975, the Soka Gakkai International (SGI) was founded as a global association, linking independent Soka Gakkai organizations around the world. Daisaku Ikeda became its president.

    In 1983, the SGI was accredited as a nongovernmental organization (NGO) in consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

    The SGI Charter was adopted in 1995, expressing the association’s commitment to strive for a peaceful world, contributing to peace, culture and education based on respect for the dignity of life and the philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism.

1990 ~ Present

Affirming the Foundations

Affirming the Foundations (1990–present)

  • 1991 | Spiritual independence

    Soka Gakkai members at the opening of the Hall of the Great Vow for Kosen-rufu

    In November 1991, having long supported its development, the Soka Gakkai marked its separation from the authoritarian and tradition-bound Nichiren Shoshu priesthood under Abe Nikken as the start of its spiritual independence.

    By 2008, spurred by greater freedom to adapt to local cultures and the modern world, membership had expanded to 192 countries and territories around the world.

    In November 2013, the Hall of the Great Vow for Kosen-rufu opened in Shinanomachi, Tokyo, as a place where Soka Gakkai members from around Japan and throughout the world could chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo together, renewing their pledge to work for peace and deepening their commitment to sharing the empowering philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism.

  • 2017 | The Soka Gakkai Constitution

    Representatives from 70 countries and territories participate in a ceremony to ratify the Soka Gakkai Constitution on November 10, 2017

    In 2017, the Soka Gakkai adopted its new Constitution, clarifying the role of the founding presidents, basic aspects of its global administration, it’s essential doctrinal stance and objectives of promoting the Nichiren Buddhism for the sake of peace and human happiness.