池田大作

“”
(© 聖教新聞)

創價學會第三任會長池田大作(1928-)是一位佛教哲學家、和平運動家、教育家、作家和詩人,亦是「國際創價學會」的創會會長。

池田於1928年1月2日在日本東京出生,家中以養殖海苔為業,他在8名兄弟姊妹中排行第五。池田的少年時代在第二次世界大戰的煙硝中度過。他目睹了戰爭毫無意義的殺戮和破壞,並體驗到身在其中的恐懼感。此經歷成為他畢生追求和平的動力。

1947年,19歲的池田與戶田城聖(1900-1958)相遇。戶田是一位教育家,也是創價學會的領導人。池田發現,戶田意志堅貞不渝,但性格隨和不做作,而且擅長於以淺顯易懂的辭彙解析深奧的佛法哲理。池田深受啟發,決定開始修行日蓮佛法,並將戶田視為他的人生導師。

後來,池田受戶田聘用,開始在他的公司上班。戶田也指導他學習、鑽研各方面的知識。

拓展宏願

約莫20人的團體照
池田在首次訪問美國時,於芝加哥中途國際機場與當地的會員們合照(1960年10月) (© 聖教新聞)

1960年5月,在戶田逝世兩年後,32歲的池田繼戶田之後就任創價學會第三任會長。在池田的領導下,創價學會進入了迅速發展的階段,積極投入文化、教育等領域,活動範圍擴展至全世界。為了實踐恩師戶田的遺願,池田以佛法概念為根本,在和平、文化與教育等範疇不遺餘力。

1975年成立了「國際創價學會」以聯繫於世界各地獨立運作的創價學會團體,池田就任會長一職。

創辦創價教育機構

池田是創價(創造價值)教育體系的創辦人,他將創價學會第一任會長牧口常三郎及二任會長戶田城聖所制定的教育方法付諸實踐,創辦了從幼稚園到大學的一系列教育機構,其中包括在日本東京和美國加利福尼亞州的兩所大學。這些被冠以創價之名的學校,並不灌輸任何宗教思想,其教學宗旨在於培育每位學生,讓他們發揮創意、擁有國際觀,並且養成擁護和平、造福社會等價值觀。

對話——和平的基礎

  • 池田大作與萊納斯‧鮑林在交談
    1990年2月在加州與諾貝爾獎得主萊納斯‧鮑林的合照 (© 聖教新聞)
  • 池田先生的身邊圍繞一群歡笑的青年會員,他在觀眾席間與一名青年碰拳(fist-bumping)
    2002年池田先生於東京鼓勵從世界各地到訪的創價學會青年會員 (© 聖教新聞)

池田堅信,對話是和平的基礎。他與世界各地眾多的領導人、學者及有識之士,就和平、文化與教育等領域進行對話。他亦設立了多個非營利研究機構,就諸多全球議題進行跨文化、跨領域的合作。比如,民主音樂協會和東京富士美術館透過藝術交流,來促進國家間、文化間的相互理解及友誼。

透過內在變革成就和平

池田視生命為最尊貴的存在。這是他的中心思想,也是佛教的根本精神。他深信,這是實現和平與人類幸福的關鍵。在他看來,世界和平始於每一個人的內心變革,而非體制改革或社會改革,正如他在以創價學會歷史編寫而成的小說《人間革命》中簡明地闡述:「一個人偉大的人間革命(人性變革),不久,也能轉換一個國家的宿命,進而能轉換全人類的宿命。」

池田大作網站閱讀更多內容

[2020年11月]

Daisaku Ikeda

“”
[© Seikyo Shimbun]

Third president of the Soka Gakkai, Daisaku Ikeda (1928– ), is a Buddhist philosopher, peacebuilder, educator, author and poet. He is the founding president of the Soka Gakkai International (SGI).

Ikeda was born in Tokyo, Japan, on January 2, 1928, the fifth of eight children, to a family of seaweed farmers. The devastation and senseless horror he witnessed as a teenager during World War II gave birth to a lifelong passion to work for peace.

In 1947, at the age of 19, he met Josei Toda (1900–58), educator and leader of the Soka Gakkai. Ikeda found in Toda an open and unaffected person, a man of unshakable conviction with a gift for explaining profound Buddhist concepts in logical, accessible terms. He was inspired to embrace the practice of Nichiren Buddhism and took Toda as his mentor in life.

Ikeda later found employment at a company run by Toda, and completed his education under Toda’s tutelage.

Expansion

A group photo of around 20 people
Ikeda with local members at Chicago’s Midway Airport on his first trip to the USA (October 1960) [© Seikyo Shimbun]

In May 1960, two years after Toda’s death, Ikeda, then 32, succeeded him as the third president of the Soka Gakkai. Under his leadership, the organization began an era of innovation and expansion, becoming actively engaged in cultural and educational endeavors worldwide. Ikeda has dedicated himself to fulfilling Toda’s dreams by developing initiatives in the areas of peace, culture and education based on Buddhist ideals.

In 1975, the Soka Gakkai International (SGI) was established as a global association of independent Soka Gakkai organizations around the world, and Ikeda became it’s president.

Establishing Soka Education

Ikeda is the founder of the Soka (value-creation) school system, which puts into practice the educational approach formulated by Tsunesaburo Makiguchi, first Soka Gakkai president, and Josei Toda. It is a nondenominational school system based on an ideal of fostering each student’s unique creative potential and cultivating an ethic of peace, social contribution and global consciousness. The school system runs from kindergarten through graduate study and includes a university in Tokyo, Japan, and another in California, USA.

Dialogue: The Foundation of Peace

  • Daisaku Ikeda and Linus Pauling standing and conversing
    With Nobel Laureate Linus Pauling in California, February 1990 [© Seikyo Shimbun]
  • Mr. Ikeda stands among smiling youth members in an auditorium, fist-bumping with a young man
    Encouraging Soka Gakkai youth members from around the world, Tokyo, 2002 [© Seikyo Shimbun]

As a staunch proponent of dialogue as the foundation of peace, Ikeda has pursued dialogue with numerous leaders, scholars and individuals around the world in fields related to peace, culture and education. In furtherance of his vision of fostering dialogue and solidarity for peace, he has founded a number of independent, nonprofit research institutes that develop cross-cultural, interdisciplinary collaboration on diverse issues. The Min-On Concert Association and the Tokyo Fuji Art Museum promote mutual understanding and friendship between different cultures through the arts.

Peace Through Inner Transformation

The central tenet of Ikeda’s thought, and of Buddhism, is the fundamental dignity of life, a value which he sees as the key to lasting peace and human happiness. In his view, global peace relies ultimately on a self-directed transformation within the life of the individual, rather than on societal or structural reforms alone. This idea is expressed most succinctly in a passage in his work, The Human Revolution, Ikeda’s novelized account of the Soka Gakkai’s history and ideals: “A great inner revolution in just a single individual will help achieve a change in the destiny of a nation and, further, will enable a change in the destiny of all humankind.”

Read more on the Daisaku Ikeda Website

[November 2020]