牧口常三郎

“”
牧口常三郎 (© 聖教新聞)

創價學會第一任會長牧口常三郎(1871-1944年)是一名教育家、作家和哲學家。1930年,他與弟子戶田城聖一同創立了創價教育學會,為創價學會的前身。

牧口一生的特點就是他鍥而不捨地與強權及惡勢力對抗。身為一名教師及校長,牧口的慈愛廣為人知。為了他心愛的學生,牧口竭盡所能,把學生的利益與幸福作為教育的焦點,推行更具人性的教育。他的領導能力受到學生和他們的家長以及其他教師的廣泛認同。同時,牧口堅決不讓那些於社會、政治地位握有權勢的人介入並干擾教育的進程,如此招來打壓和迫害,包括被屢次調動到環境惡劣的學校等等。

後來,他因拒與日本軍國主義政府的政策妥協而被冠上「思想犯」的罪名遭逮捕入獄。他在獄中因營養不良而逝世,享年73歲。近年來,牧口所提倡的教育理念開始廣受國際教育界的矚目。

教育理念

“”
牧口的親筆揮毫 (© 聖教新聞)

牧口畢生努力於改革日本的教育制度。他認為,當時的教育制度抹殺學生的創意和思考能力。對牧口而言,教育不是國家或社會的應急品,而是為了學生的幸福而有的。

近二十年間,牧口歷任多所東京尋常小學的校長。任職期間,他留存了有關其教育學說和實踐方法的大量筆記,成立了其獨創的教育哲學。

牧口的教育思想充分體現在他的著作《創價教育學體系》當中,他在其中詳討創造價值(創價)的概念。這是他教育學的中樞思想。當時的日本軍國主義政府利用教育來培訓唯命是從的臣民。牧口的理念與之恰恰相反。

創立創價學會

“”
1938年牧口(後排,左四)與創價教育學會的成員合照 (© 聖教新聞)

1928年,57歲的牧口皈依日蓮佛法。他發現日蓮佛法人道主義的哲學與他的思想起到相輔相成的作用。

後來,牧口就他入信当时的心境如此說道:「實在無法用言語來形容內心的歡喜﹐幾乎讓我六十年的生活法煥然一新。不但掃除了內心總在暗中摸索的不安感﹐以及生來消極的想法﹐也令生活目的變為遠大﹐減少了恐懼感。」

1930年,牧口與戶田創設了創價教育學會。起初是由一群教育家所組成,目的在於推廣牧口的創價教育學說。之後,創價教育學會逐漸發展為一個以宣揚佛法為主要目的的組織,會員也來自社會各個階層。

多年來,牧口和戶田嘗試以教育推進社會改革。日蓮佛法卻強調,社會改革源自個人內心的改變。接觸了日蓮佛法之後,牧口和戶田明白到,這才是讓社會進行真正變革的可行之道。

於獄中逝世

“”
牧口在類似的牢房迎接人生最後階段 (© 聖教新聞)

日本軍國主義政府把國家主義色彩濃郁的國家神道強加於日本國民身上,以此控制人們的思想,迫使人們支持其侵略戰爭,並嚴懲一切異議。對於這種蠻橫鎮壓,牧口全力抗拒。1943年,牧口、戶田被捕入獄。1944年11月18日,牧口因衰老及營養不良而在獄中逝世。直至臨終一刻,牧口依然貫徹立場,對自己的信念堅定不移。

牧口常三郎網站閱讀更多內容

[2020年11月]

Tsunesaburo Makiguchi

“”
Tsunesaburo Makiguchi [© Seikyo Shimbun]

The first president of the Soka Gakkai, Tsunesaburo Makiguchi (1871–1944), was a pioneering educator, author and philosopher. Together with his protégé Josei Toda, he founded the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai (Society for Value-Creating Education), the forerunner of the Soka Gakkai, in 1930.

Makiguchi’s life was characterized by confrontation with repressive authorities. As a teacher and principal known for his warmth and consideration, he strove to introduce a more humanistic, student-centered approach to education. His successful leadership was widely recognized by students, their families and fellow educators. At the same time, his refusal to allow those in positions of social or political power to influence the educational process invited harassment, including repeated reassignment to schools with limited resources.

Later, he was arrested for opposing the policies of the Japanese militarist regime and imprisoned as a thought criminal. He died in prison at the age of 73. In recent years, his educational theories have been attracting increasing international attention.

Educational Ideas

“”
Makiguchi’s calligraphy—“Education” [© Seikyo Shimbun]

For most of his life, Makiguchi’s central concern was to reform the education system that, he felt, discouraged independent thinking and stifled students’ growth and creativity. He believed that education should serve the happiness of the students, rather than simply the needs of society or the state.

Makiguchi served as principal of a series of elementary schools in Tokyo over a period of some 20 years. Throughout his career, he kept copious notes about educational theory and practice and developed an original educational philosophy.

His educational ideas, and his theory of value-creation (soka), which underlies his pedagogy, are explored in his work Soka Kyoikugaku Taikei (The System of Value-Creating Pedagogy). Makiguchi’s views completely contradicted the logic of the militarist government, which sought to use education to mold obedient servants of the state.

Foundation of the Soka Gakkai

“”
Makiguchi with members of the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai in 1938 (back row, 4th from left) [© Seikyo Shimbun]

In 1928, at the age of 57, Makiguchi encountered the Buddhist teaching of Nichiren, finding within it a humanistic philosophy that accorded with his own thinking.

Later he described his feelings at that time: “With a joy that is beyond the power of words to express, I completely renewed the basis of the life I had led for almost 60 years. The sense of unease, of groping my way in the dark, was entirely dissipated; my lifelong tendency to withdraw into thought disappeared; my sense of purpose in life steadily expanded in scope and ambition.”

In 1930, Makiguchi and Toda founded the Society for Value-creating Education. Initially a group of educators promoting Makiguchi’s theory of value creation, over the course of the 1930s, the Soka Kyoiku Gakkai gradually developed into an organization with a broader membership focusing on the propagation of Buddhism.

This happened as Makiguchi and Toda became increasingly convinced that Nichiren’s philosophy, with its emphasis on the transformation of society through individual transformation, was the means to achieving the fundamental social reform that they had been trying to accomplish through their educational efforts.

Death in Prison

“”
A prison cell similar to the one where Makiguchi spent the last days of his life [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Meanwhile, the militarist government imposed the religion of State Shinto in order to exert ideological control over the Japanese people and enforce support for its aggressive expansionism. It also grew increasingly intolerant of dissent. Makiguchi staunchly resisted these repressive actions. In 1943, Makiguchi and Toda were arrested and imprisoned. Refusing to the end to compromise his beliefs, Makiguchi died in prison of malnutrition and old age on November 18, 1944.

[November 2020]