佛教徒對應氣候危機的方式

羅伯特‧哈拉普 英國SGI理事長
由地面仰望樹木形成的綠色蒼穹

照片來源:Felix Mittermeier)

以下節選自英國SGI理事長羅伯特‧哈拉普(Robert Harrap)為一場題為「為了地球的菩薩──佛教徒對應氣候危機的方式」(Bodhisattvas for the Earth—The Buddhist Response to the Climate Crisis)的網路研討會所發表的演講。研討會由英國SGI主辦,為響應即將於2021年11月在英國格拉斯哥進行的第二十六屆聯合國氣候變化大會(COP26)。

佛教向來關注萬物之間的聯繫,佛陀也教導不可不愛護環境。尊重環境的原則可追溯到佛教的起點。

創價學會的創辦人牧口常三郎是位教育家,他在1903年出版的書籍《人生地理學》談及了人類與環境在倫理與精神層面上的關係。

池田大作創價學會第三任會長在過去的幾十年間,不懈地撰寫關於此議題的文章、論文以及倡言。我的演講內容深受其著作影響。

另外,國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)積極地以各種方式提升人們對這些議題的意識,尤其是通過如「希望的種子」等曾於世界各地巡迴舉辦的展覽。

環環相扣的關係──因陀羅網的譬喻

佛陀悟道後說出,所有現象皆互相關聯、交錯及影響,形成了一個巨大且複雜的網。關於此原理,有各種不同的說法,其中一個便是因陀羅網的譬喻。

蜘蛛網上覆蓋著晶瑩剔透的小水珠

在佛法的教義中,因陀羅網的譬喻是指一個懸掛在帝釋天宮殿上的巨網,上面的每一個結都繫有色彩鮮豔的寶石。整個網因璀璨的寶石而閃閃發光。每顆寶石都反射了其他寶石的光芒,互相輝映,整體看起來華麗壯觀。當網的一端被拉動時,上面的寶石隨之閃爍生輝,無一不被影響。這個譬喻教示萬物之間息息相關,而我們與環境的關係更是牽一髮而動全身。

佛教認為天地萬物之間的關係並非靜止不動,而是脈動著無窮的創造力。這個譬喻也說出,一個人可以為整個環環相扣的網帶來正面的影響。換句話說,一個人可以為社會的各個層面乃至全人類與大自然帶來變革。

依正不二

我們常通過依正不二的法理來解釋人(或生命)與環境的關係。日蓮佛法的始創人日蓮大聖人寫道:「譬依報如影,正報如體。無身則無影,無正報則無依報。又、正報以依報作之。」

這句話並不意味著「體」凌駕於「影」,或兩者有高低之分。此明喻是要指出,當身體擺動時,影子也隨之擺動。

從一般的角度來看,環境與個人是兩個不同的存在。然而,佛法看得更深,認為環境與個人密不可分,因為這兩個看起來明顯不同的存在,其實擁有共同的根源,不僅僅是一個互惠的關係。

「依正」的「依」代表依報或環境,意指我的所在之處。「依正」的「正」則代表正報,指的是生命的主體或自己。「不二」是「二而不二」的簡稱。因此,「依正不二」的意思就是自己與環境看似是兩個不同的存在,但實際上卻密切相關、不可分割。

另一個「一念三千」的佛教法理,則是告訴我們每一個瞬間中都包含著自己及環境,互具互融。

從佛法的觀點來看,自己與環境皆源自於一種貫穿宇宙的生命力,稱之為宇宙的法則。雖然自己與環境看似是兩個不同的現象,但本質上兩者實則不二,同出一脈。

一個人靜靜坐著,觀望眼前的山水
照片來源:S Migaj)

簡單來說,佛法教導,環境反映了我們內心的狀態,我們內心的狀態也深受環境所發生的一切影響。依正不二鼓勵我們,可以通過內在的改變,即提升內在的境界,來影響及改變環境。

佛經有云:「眾生心污,則土亦污,心清則土亦清;云淨土,云穢土,土無二隔,只因我等之心有善惡耳!」

為了解答究竟我們的心是善是惡,如果是惡又該怎麼辦這樣的問題,日蓮佛法特別關注個人以及社會整體的生命境界。這個概念可以用佛教法理「十界」來理解。該法理闡明,我們每一個人都會以十種心理反應中的其中一種來面對人生的酸甜苦辣,這些心理反應也就是生命境界。

受貪瞋癡的影響,人可能會做出負面和具破壞性的行為。不過,人也可以通過修行日蓮佛法提升生命境界,湧現慈悲利他的菩薩界或充滿活力、積極正向的佛界。

生命的尊嚴

池田會長在與海瑟‧亨德森(Hazel Henderson)的對談集《珍愛地球──邁向光輝的女性世紀》裡談到:

「佛法認為所有人的生命內在,存在著廣大的宇宙。『內在的宇宙』當中,存在著無窮的寶藏,亦即蘊藏著『善性』,被稱為『佛性』這種尊貴的存在,這是所有生物內在都潛在的,並發出光輝。

「佛法對『內在的宇宙』與持續進化的『外在的宇宙』是一體這一點,有深刻的認識。以『宇宙即我』、『大宇宙即小宇宙』等方式,來表現這樣的關係。

「佛法洞察萬物與我們生命是一體的,因此所有事物都是互相關連的實相。這是之前也提到過的,稱之為『緣起』的觀點。

「緣起思想是說,不管人或自然界,都不可能單獨出現。萬物之間息息相關、互相依存,形成一個宇宙,奏出生命的韻律。」

池田會長的《新人間革命》中,有一段話與之相呼應:

「佛法不認為人是地上的統治者,而其他生物和自然是可以征服的物件。大宇宙本身是一個生命體,人也是一個活在其間的小宇宙。人、其他生物、還有自己周圍的一切存在,是互相依存、互相支持、互相調和的,以此而維持生存。」

我們所有的行動都應該以尊重生命尊嚴為基本原則,這是必須採納的立場。

祈求世界和平、變革內在與對話

在2020年,英國SGI的會員們學習了日蓮大聖人寫的一篇重要諫書〈立正安國論〉。這篇諫書撰於1260年的日本,以對話的形式指出當時政府的中心思想錯誤,無能力保護平民百姓。日蓮大聖人勸諫說,擯棄錯誤的治理方法,反之以生命的尊嚴為根本,人們才會變得幸福,國土才會得到安寧。在這篇著作中可看到,日蓮大聖人提出一個包含三個層面的變革過程,而我們應該學以致用。

日蓮大聖人描述了人們正在經歷疫病、天災地變、戰禍等苦難之後,提出了一個包含三個層面的解決方案──祈求、變革內在以及通過對話為他人帶來正向的影響。這篇以對談形式構成的諫書讓我們看到,這位關心天下的朋友在對話中改變了原有的想法,察覺到內心蘊藏的潛能,變成一位能鼓勵他人的人。

日蓮大聖人說明持有寬廣視角,甚至是放眼全球的重要性,並將之形容為變革過程的第一步:「須知,汝欲求一身安堵,必先禱四表之靜謐。」

與其只關注自己、家人或所在的社區,我們應該更寬廣地,為「四表」也就是全世界祈求。至於內在的變革,日蓮大聖人就應採取的行動,以及這些行動對我們周遭環境會帶來的影響進行講解:「汝其早改信仰之寸心……若然,則三界皆佛國,佛國焉衰?」

人間革命

「改信仰之寸心」形容的是一個內在的變革過程,創價學會稱之為「人間革命」(人性變革)。關於這個過程,池田會長寫道:

「一個人偉大的人間革命,將能轉換一個國家的宿命,進而能夠轉換全人類的宿命。」

怎麼做才能實踐人間革命呢?在與英國歷史學家阿諾德‧湯因比的對談集《選擇生命──湯因比與池田大作對談錄》裡,池田會長表示,我們必須找出一個辦法,讓蘊藏在內心深處的力量發揮出來。人間革命的奧妙就在於挖掘自身佛性的泉源,在我們平時的行動中,顯現佛的特質。在日蓮佛法的傳統中,發掘此力量的方法即是唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(這個行為稱為「唱題」),因為日蓮大聖人教導,這是湧現內心最深層的正能量的關鍵。當我們決心要改變環境而唱題時,我們就能夠在日常生活的一舉一動中顯現出佛的特質。

我們能做些什麼呢?

在海邊撿起一個塑料瓶
照片來源:Marta Ortigosa)

在個人的層面,我們可以「全球思考,本地行動」。謹慎消費,本著小心負責的態度留意食物與消耗品的原料是否符合可持續的精神。減少浪費、減量、重複使用與回收再利用。更可以依照聯合國「即刻行動」網站上所推薦的十種個人行動。已經在實踐的人,要確信自己正在帶來改變,呼籲家人與朋友們一起參與。這些行動包括回收再利用、重複使用、縮短沐浴時間和拔掉電源插頭,並且在購買衣物時,注意原料是否環保等。

另外,池田會長每年發表的《和平倡言》也提供了寶貴且鼓舞人心的觀點。雖然倡言面向的是聯合國,但是也提出每一個人針對當代重要議題所可以實踐的行動。我認為倡言非常激勵人心、積極而正面。

我們每一個人都有發言權。我們可以對地方上或中央的政治家提出意見,促使他們訂定優良的政策,變更不合理的政策。我們可以支持轉型城鎮的發展、其他社區倡議等,能做的事很多。

池田會長於2015年發表的《和平倡言》裡,其中一個章節探討了重新樹立以人為本的政治與經濟。他談論到當民眾團結一致地行動時,可以發揮巨大的力量。池田會長提及與已故和平學者埃莉斯‧博爾丁(Elise Boulding)之間的友誼,說博爾丁深信傾注全力協助社區每個人成長至關重要。我們或許會擔心在乎的人不夠多,然而博爾丁的這段話令人安心。池田會長表示:

「她也強調,社會未來的動向,由人口中活躍於社會、關心社會的百分之五的人決定。換言之,這百分之五的人最終會改變整個社會的文化。這番充滿確信的話給了我莫大的希望。」

只需要百分之五的人口積極投入,就可以改變未來的方向。我們可以開始去尋找志同道合的伙伴,一起推進明智而慈悲的行動。

我們的工作堆積如山。所以,我們都應該思考,作為一個人、作為民間社會的一分子,與志同道合的友人、團體一起能作些什麼。

讓我們一同加深這些佛教法理給予我們的希望及信心。我們一定可以開創新局,帶來積極的改變。

觀看網路研討會

[2021年7月]

A Buddhist Response to the Climate Crisis

Robert Harrap, SGI-UK General Director
View of tree canopy from the ground
[Photo by Felix Mittermeier]

The following is taken from a longer talk by SGI-UK General Director Robert Harrap for a webinar, titled “Bodhisattvas for the Earth—The Buddhist Response to the Climate Crisis,” organized by SGI-UK in the lead-up to the COP26 climate change conference in Glasgow, UK, in November 2021.

Buddhism has always looked at the interconnectedness of all things, and the Buddha taught that there would be problems if we do not care for the environment. Respect for the environment is a principle that goes back to the beginning of Buddhism.

The founder of the Soka Gakkai, an educator called Tsunesaburo Makiguchi, wrote a book published in 1903 called The Geography of Human Life, which described an ethical and spiritual relationship between humanity and our environment.

Daisaku Ikeda, third president of the Soka Gakkai, has been contributing articles, papers and proposals on this issue for decades, and his writings have been a huge influence in this talk.

Finally, the SGI (Soka Gakkai International) has been actively raising awareness of these issues in different ways, but particularly through exhibitions such as “Seeds of Hope,” which has been shown around the world.

Interconnectedness—The Metaphor of Indra’s Net

Soon after attaining enlightenment, the Buddha explained how all phenomena are connected in a great and complex web of overlapping and mutually interacting elements. This connection is explained in different ways. One of them is the metaphor of Indra’s net.

A spider web covered in glistening beads of water droplets

In Buddhist teachings, the metaphor of Indra’s net describes an enormous net suspended above the palace of the god Indra where at every knot there is tied a brightly colored jewel. The net shimmers with the brilliant colors of the jewels. Each jewel contains and reflects the image of all the other jewels in the net, which sparkles in the magnificence of its totality. When a single cord is pulled, each and every jewel throughout the net sparkles beautifully. No part of the net is unaffected. This metaphor tells us that in life we are all connected and that our relationship with the environment is also intimately close.

Buddhism sees the relationships of all things in the universe not as a still, static image, but as the dynamic pulsing of creative life. This metaphor is also used to explain that one person can positively affect the whole web of interconnected life and how one person can effect a change on a variety of levels in society, across humanity and in nature.

The Oneness of Life and Its Environment

Our relationship with the environment is often explained through the principle of the oneness of self (or life) and the environment (Jpn. esho funi). Nichiren Daishonin, the founder of Nichiren Buddhism, wrote: “Environment is like the shadow, and life, the body. Without the body, no shadow can exist, and without life, no environment. In the same way, life is shaped by its environment.”

We should be clear that this is not suggesting a hierarchy—that the body is superior and the shadow inferior. The point this simile is making is that when the body moves, the shadow immediately responds.

From a basic perspective, the environment and I are two things. But the Buddhist view is that on a deeper level there is oneness. Buddhism suggests that it is more than simply a mutually beneficial relationship, and that both of these two apparently different things have the same source.

The “e” of esho stands for eho or the environment, which means the place where I find myself. The “Sho” of esho stands for shoho, independent life entity or self. Funi is short for a longer phrase that translates as “two but not two.” This expression therefore means that self and the environment appear to be two, but they are actually so profoundly connected that there is a oneness.

A principle called “three thousand realms in a single moment of life” tells us that both the individual and the environment are inherent in a single moment, so each contains the other, and at the same time each pervades the other.

In fact, the Buddhist view is that both the self and the environment arise out of what it calls the universal law, or cosmic life force. While they appear to be two separate phenomena, they are one in essence because they both emerge out of the same core universal life.

A Person sitting on a dock looking out on a body of water and mountains
[Photo by S Migaj]

To put these complicated ideas more simply, we are taught that the environment mirrors what is going on in our lives and that our lives are deeply affected by what happens in the environment. The positive message from this principle of esho funi is that it shows us that people can influence and reform their environment through an inner change, or by elevating their inner life condition.

A Buddhist sutra says: “If the minds of living beings are impure, their land is also impure, but if their minds are pure, so is their land. There are not two lands, pure or impure in themselves. The difference lies solely in the good or evil of our minds.”

To explain the question of whether our minds are good or evil, and if they are evil, what we can do about it, Nichiren Buddhism emphasizes the importance of the life state of the individual, and, collectively, the life state of a society. This is explained in a principle called the “Ten Worlds,” which explains that each of us is capable of responding to what is going on in life through one of ten different psychological responses, or life states.

While we are capable of negative and destructive actions when motivated by greed, anger and foolishness, with the practice of Nichiren Buddhism, we can also raise our life state and reveal the compassionate and altruistic state of the bodhisattva and the dynamically positive state of the Buddha.

The Dignity of Life

In Daisaku Ikeda’s published dialogue with Hazel Henderson, Planetary Citizenship, he remarks:

“Buddhism locates a vast cosmos deep within human life. This cosmos contains a boundless treasure or goodness, reverently called the ‘Buddha nature.’ This radiant nature is inherent in all living things. Each inner cosmos is one with the evolving greater external universe. In Buddhist terms, the great universe and the self—the great macrocosm and the microcosm—are one.

“Since the self and all phenomena are one, all things are interrelated. Termed dependent origination, this teaching explains that all things weave a single whole in which individuals live in relation to all others.

“In other words, all beings and phenomena exist or occur because of their relationship with other beings and phenomena, and nothing in either the human or the nonhuman world exists in isolation. All things are mutually related to and interdependent with all other things. They all form a great cosmos maintaining the rhythms of life.”

This is echoed in Ikeda’s The New Human Revolution:

“Buddhism does not regard human beings as masters of the Earth destined to conquer and subjugate Nature and all other life. Instead, it views the universe as a single living entity, of which humans are only a small part—a microcosm within the macrocosm, so to speak. Buddhism perceives human beings and all other life, as well as the environment and phenomena surrounding them, as linked in a web of mutually interdependent and harmonious relationships, all of which serve to support and maintain life.”

We must adopt the standpoint that the awareness of the dignity of life must be the basic principle on which all our actions rest.

Global Prayer, Inner Transformation and Dialogue

In 2020, SGI-UK members studied Nichiren’s seminal treatise “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land” (Jpn. Rissho Ankoku Ron). This text, written in 1260 Japan as a dialogue, explains how the underlying philosophy of the government had failed to protect the ordinary people. By replacing that failed way of governing with one based on the dignity of life, Nichiren explains, the people will become happier and the land will become safer. We can see in this writing a three-stage process that Nichiren wishes us to absorb and apply.

Having explained the misery of the people who have experienced pestilence, extreme weather events, earthquakes and the threat of invasion, Nichiren talks about a remedy which has three stages: prayer, inner transformation and the power of dialogue to have a positive influence on others. This text shows us through a dialogue how someone concerned about the state of the world is persuaded to find the depths of their own inner potential and to then encourage others in turn.

Nichiren starts the process of transformation by explaining how important it is to have a broad—even a global—focus: “If you care anything about your personal security, you should first of all pray for order and tranquility throughout the four quarters of the land, should you not?”

Rather than just focusing on ourselves, our families or our own local area, we should stretch our awareness and pray for the four quarters—the whole world. About the process of inner transformation, he explains what is necessary to do and then describes the impact on the world around us: “Therefore, you must quickly reform the tenets that you hold in your heart . . . If you do so, then the threefold world will become the Buddha land, and how could a Buddha land ever decline?”

Human Revolution

“Reforming the tenets that we hold in our hearts” describes the process of inner transformation which is referred to as human revolution within the Soka Gakkai. President Ikeda has said of this process:

“A great human revolution in just a single individual will help achieve a change in the destiny of a nation and, further, will enable a change in the destiny of all humankind.”

How do we do this human revolution? In Choose Life, the dialogue with the British historian Arnold Toynbee, Ikeda said that one must devise a way of tapping the power that lies deeper than consciousness. The deep meaning of human revolution is for us to access the reservoir of the Buddha nature and reveal the qualities of the Buddha through our actions in our daily lives. In the Nichiren Buddhist tradition, the way to do this is to chant the phrase Nam-myoho-renge-kyo which Nichiren taught is the key to summon and manifest the positive power that is at the deepest level of life. When we chant this phrase with a determination to see a transformation in the world around us, we draw out the qualities of the Buddha so they imbue our actions in our daily lives.

What Can We Do?

A person picking up a plastic bottle on a beach
[Photo by Marta Ortigosa]

As individuals, we can follow the suggestion to “Think globally and act locally.” We can be careful with our consumption, source our food and consumables carefully, responsibly and sustainably. We can waste less, reduce, reuse and recycle. We can follow the ten actions for individuals recommended by the United Nations on their “act now” website—and if we are already doing them then we can be confident we are making a difference—but let’s let our families and friends know about them as well. They include things like recycling and reusing, but also spending shorter time in the shower, unplugging electrical devices and thinking about where we source our clothes.

It’s also very valuable to get reassuring perspectives from Daisaku Ikeda’s annual peace proposals. They are aimed at the UN, but they also suggest things each of us can do about the important issues of the day. They are also incredibly hope-filled, positive and inspiring documents.

As individuals we have a voice. We can lobby politicians, both local and national, and encourage positive policies and challenge unreasonable ones. We can support the development of transition towns and other local initiatives. And there are many other things as well.

In his 2015 peace proposal, in a section on the rehumanization of politics and economics, President Ikeda talks about the power of people when we act together in solidarity. He refers to his friendship with the peace scholar, the late Elise Boulding, and her belief that it is important to devote all-out effort to developing each member of the community. We may worry though that not enough people seem to care. In this very reassuring statement, he then says that Elise Boulding:

“. . . maintained that the future direction of society is in fact determined by the 5 percent who are active and committed. This 5 percent ultimately transforms the culture in its entirety. I draw great hope from her confidence.”

We only need 5 percent to be active and committed to transform our future direction. We may need to go out and find others who share our concerns and our determination to take wise and compassionate action.

There is a lot of work to be done, so it is for each of us to think what we can do as an individual, as part of our civil society groups and together with likeminded individuals and groups.

Let’s deepen the confidence that an understanding of these Buddhist principles gives us. We can cause a change, and we can make a positive difference.

Access the full webinar here

July 2021