我的可持续“竹”迹

内尔塞•梅斯基塔 巴西
对着镜头展开笑颜的一位女士和小女孩。

来自巴西的内尔塞•梅斯基塔(Neilce Mesquita),朋友称她特卡(Teka),是名事业有成的建筑师及室内设计师,因为推广使用更具可持续特性的竹子来代替木材而颇负盛名,而她会踏上这个梦寐以求的职涯,是始于海上的一段偶遇。

1998年,我在家乡里约热内卢的船上欣赏落日美景时,从一位观光客的口中初次听闻此佛道修行。当时特别引起我兴趣的是佛法中务实的哲理——“变毒为药”,也就是将所有的困难转变为成长及幸福的养分。这位新朋友告诉我:“这个信仰可以化不可能为可能。”我当下感觉到自己即将步入重大的转变。

我越来越确信,自己不必放弃追求幸福以及梦想,因为我的生命中就拥有创造命运的力量。

加入创价学会之后,我开始进一步思考人生的目的,也越来越确信自己不必放弃追求幸福以及梦想,因为我的生命中就拥有创造命运的力量。

当时我在一家运输保险公司上班,对室内设计有兴趣,也参与了一些船只的内装工作。2001年,这项兴趣发展成攻读建筑的热望,我进入位于里约的一所私立大学,修习建筑课程。虽然并不是轻松的决定,但是我下定决心要化所有困难为个人成长的机会——也就是人间革命(人性变革)的机会。

攻读学位同时,我开始在一家建筑公司工作。半工半读本身就是一件具挑战的事,雪上加霜的是,我一直找不到毕业专题的指导教授;学业之外,我另外参与了一些规模大且高压的专案。因为这些挑战,加上学业上种种中断又重来的状况,我花了整整十年的时间才毕业。

意料之外的灵感

2008年,我的学业还在进行中,此时工作方面的压力却到达了临界点,于是决定让自己休息一下,并到巴厘岛(或称峇里岛)度了一段长假。当地的文化、巴厘岛风格设计和工艺的精致度让我大开眼界。周围环绕具实用性的美学——建筑、房屋内装、饭店以及水疗中心,时尚与简约的融合,还有各种声音、气味以及色彩。这股感官上的洪流为我带来舒适美好的感受。

趁着汇率正好时,我装满了两大货柜的巴厘岛风格家具及装饰品带回巴西,租下了一个展览场地,于三个月之内就卖出了所有物品,在生意上取得了一次丰硕的成果。

巴厘岛另一个让我惊喜的发现,是竹子的美丽以及多元用途。在当地,竹子是主要的建材,既可以用来铺设地板,也可以制作家具,同时对环境有多种好处——它的成长速度快于木材,在成长季节中更能吸收大量的二氧化碳。我开始有了想法,打算在自己的领域中推广竹子的运用。

突如其来的危机

从巴厘岛回来的隔年,我和满脑子浪漫想法的男友分手,之后却发现自己怀孕了。怀孕期间出现子痫前症的症状,这是在孕期中极可能致命的并发症。怀孕七个月时,我被送入重症监护室,进行引产。在我一直拼命祈求之下,女儿平安出世了。住院一整个月的期间,创价学会会员们的温暖支持给我带了莫大的安慰与鼓励。

女儿出生后,我回到大学去完成学业的最后阶段,甚至抱着尚未断奶的女儿去上课。此时我终于找到一位认同我的研究专题,并愿意指导我的教授。2010年,我终于修足学分,并以优异的成绩拿到毕业证书。

在这一路走来的跌宕起伏中,佛道修行带给我力量,承担起自己的人生,不管际遇看起来是好是坏,我都能如实拥抱当下,确信一切都会成为通往光明未来的跳板。

在经过仔细的评估之后,我在同一年成立了一家竹子地板工程公司,推广使用竹子来替代木材。我在里约长大,但实际上是在亚马逊的玛瑙斯出生,能够藉此为保存当地雨林尽一番心力,我感到自豪且高兴。巧合的是,玛瑙斯也是创价亚马逊研究所的所在地,这是我的人生导师——创价学会第三任会长池田大作所创办的机构,与恩师的理念一致让我引以为傲。

我目前拥有一家建筑公司,以可持续性以及创新作为核心理念。我们的客户中有知名的餐厅以及人物,也曾被国际性杂志报导介绍。直至今日,我仍保有创业时对工作的热情,深深觉得心满意足。

在这一路走来的跌宕起伏中,佛道修行带给我力量,承担起自己的人生,不管际遇看起来是好是坏,我都能如实拥抱当下,确信一切都会成为通往光明未来的跳板。佛法也让我对生命产生感谢的心,并能驾驭自己的力量,持续让自己的内心以及外部的环境都变得更好。

就如同当时,那位朋友在美丽的夕阳下向我保证,每个人都有变毒为药、创造美好未来的能力。我要变得更幸福,也要为他人的幸福更加努力,我会怀着勇气及希望继续前进,推动变革,为人们以及环境带来正面影响,更加欢喜地生活。

来源: 2021年4月16日日本创价学会刊物《圣教新闻》

My Path to a Sustainable Future

Neilce Mesquita, Brazil
A woman and a girl smile at the camera

Neilce Mesquita, from Brazil, (“Teka” to her friends) has a successful career as an architect and interior designer and is known for her promotion of bamboo as a more sustainable alternative to wood. Her journey to her dream job began with a chance encounter on the ocean.

I first heard about this Buddhist practice from a tourist while watching the sunset from a boat in Rio de Janeiro, my hometown. That was in 1998. What especially caught my attention was that this was a practical philosophy for “changing poison into medicine,” for transforming all hardships into fuel for growth and happiness. “Faith makes the impossible possible,” my new friend told me. I had the sense that I was at the beginning of a great change.

I had a growing sense of confidence that I need never give up on my happiness and dreams because I have the power within myself to shape my destiny.

After joining the Soka Gakkai, I began to think more about my purpose in life. I had a growing sense of confidence that I need never give up on my happiness and dreams because I have the power within myself to shape my destiny.

At the time, I was working in shipping insurance. I was interested in interiors and design and worked on the interiors of some boats. This developed into a desire to study architecture, and in 2001, I enrolled in an architecture course at a private university in Rio. The decision to study was not an easy one, but I decided to do it with the determination that any difficulties would be opportunities to develop myself—to do my human revolution.

While studying, I began to work for an architectural firm. Studying while working was challenging. Additionally, I had difficulty finding a supervisor for my proposed graduation project. Outside of my studies, I had the opportunity to work on some large, high-pressure projects. Because of these challenges and various stops and starts in my studies, it would ultimately take ten years for me to graduate.

Unexpected Inspiration

In 2008, when I was still in school, work pressures had increased to the point that I decided to give myself a break and took a long vacation to Bali. The local culture and the exquisiteness of Balinese design and craftsmanship was a revelation to me. I was surrounded by functional beauty—the architecture; the interiors of houses, hotels and spas; the mix of contemporary and rustic; sounds, smells, colors. It was a sensory deluge that left me with great feelings of well-being.

Taking advantage of a favorable currency exchange rate, I filled two shipping containers with Balinese furniture and ornaments and brought them back to Brazil. I rented an exhibition space and within three months had sold all the items. It was a massive business success!

One of the wonderful discoveries I had made in Bali was of the beauty and versatility of bamboo, which is a primary construction material there, used for flooring as well as for furniture. Bamboo also has several environmental advantages. It grows much faster than wood and absorbs a large amount of carbon dioxide during the growing season. This was the beginning of a desire to promote the wider use of bamboo in my field.

Emergency

The year after returning from Bali, I split up with my romantic partner, only to discover afterward that I was pregnant. During my pregnancy, I developed preeclampsia, a potentially fatal pregnancy complication. In the seventh month of my pregnancy, I was admitted to the ICU and had an induced birth. My desperate prayers were answered when my daughter was delivered safely. During my month-long stay in hospital, I was comforted greatly by the warm support of my fellow Soka Gakkai members.

After my daughter’s birth, while still breastfeeding, I went back to university to complete the final phase of my studies, attending class with her on my lap. I was able to find a professor who believed in my project proposal and agreed to be my supervisor, and so in 2010, I completed my course, graduating with distinction.

Throughout all the ups and downs, my Buddhist practice has empowered me to take responsibility for my life—to embrace every circumstance, whether seemingly good or bad—with the conviction that it can become a springboard into a brighter future.

The same year, having researched the matter, I started a bamboo flooring company, promoting the use of bamboo as an alternative to wood. Though I grew up in Rio, I was born in Manaus, in Amazonas state, and I feel a sense of pride and satisfaction in being able to contribute to the preservation of the forest. Coincidentally, Manaus is the home of the Soka Institute for Environmental Studies and Research of the Amazon, established by my mentor Daisaku Ikeda, third Soka Gakkai president, and I am proud to be aligned with its ideals.

Currently, I have my own architecture and design firm that has sustainability and innovation as its central principles. Our clients have included famous restaurants and celebrities, and we have been featured in international magazines. I have the same passion and enthusiasm for my work as when I began, which makes it deeply satisfying.

Throughout all the ups and downs, my Buddhist practice has empowered me to take responsibility for my life—to embrace every circumstance, whether seemingly good or bad—with the conviction that it can become a springboard into a brighter future. It enables me to activate a feeling of gratitude for life and to harness the energy to continue the positive transformation of my heart and my environment.

As my friend assured me on that day in the beautiful sunset, each of us has the ability to change poison into medicine and create our own bright future. I want to become ever happier and contribute to the happiness of others. I will keep moving forward with courage and hope, promoting changes that can positively impact the environment and people and enhance the joy of living.

Adapted from an article in the April 16, 2021, issue of the Seikyo Shimbun, Soka Gakkai, Japan.