一個成長的機緣:實現不可思議的夢想

朱利安‧達爾蒂 法國
一位身穿廚師服的男性在院子裡留影。
(照片來源:朱利安‧達爾蒂)

朱利安‧達爾蒂(Julien Darty)的夢想是成為一名出色的廚師。他通過佛道修行培養毅力,堅持了十多年。過程中跨越了種族歧視還有經濟困難,最終實現了自己的夢想。

2010年,我是懷著成為一名出色的廚師和擁有自己餐廳的願望而開始修行佛法。在當時,這可是一個奢望,因為現實是我根本沒有資金經營一家餐館。母親一直鼓勵我說,通過唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(這個行為稱為「唱題」),我可以挑戰這項艱巨的目標。

在2011年1月,我離開了原本居住的留尼汪島,遷居法國諾曼底一個美麗的村莊。我與一個同樣是修行日蓮佛法的家庭取得聯繫。我們每週都一起唱題與學習佛法。

這個村莊雖然很優美,但種族歧視卻顯而易見。在到達兩個月後,很震驚的,我成為了一次種族主義行為的受害者。我步行穿過村子的街道時,有一名男性在我身旁停下,侮辱了我之後逃之夭夭。我事後感覺特別難受,對此耿耿於懷。

建立友誼與信任

我想在我的環境中建立信任,那樣我就再也不用經歷種族歧視了。

在我持續佛道修行的同時,圍繞著這段經歷的種種疑惑困擾著我。我問自己:「為什麼?」以及「怎麼可以憑膚色評斷任何人呢?」我決定以《法華經》中提及的常不輕菩薩為榜樣。無論如何,堅持相信人們善的一面。

我和妹妹聯手開辦了一家外賣店並設法為我未來想經營的餐館存一點資金。我想在我的環境中建立信任,那樣我就再也不用經歷種族歧視了。我與當地的行政首長和村民們進行了多次的友好交流,我總是保持著非常友善的態度,對我遇到的每一個人都報以微笑以及和藹的話語。

然而,在2011年7月,也就是第一次事件發生的六個月後,當我在賣外賣時,我再次成為種族歧視的受害者,但這次截然不同了。所有曾與我進行對話並建立友誼的人都站出來為我發聲。這顯示我們的村莊改變了,而我的個人事業也開始轉變。我的生意蒸蒸日上,訂單也源源不斷。

不屈不饒的堅持

儘管銷售額上升了,但我的淨收入依然很低。我的個人財務狀況一天比一天差。我始終弄不清楚問題出在哪裡,為什麼我的財務狀況如此糟糕。我決定以堅強的決心去改變我的宿業,以顯現這佛法修行的實證。

通過唱題,我重新喚起希望,決定不被打敗。

2015年1月底,我被所有的經濟困難所壓垮。我深切地希望能改變我一直以來遭遇的財務困境。然而,我卻在這時被騙走了一大筆錢。儘管付出了所有的努力,我還是覺得自己很脆弱。的確,生活給了我成長的機會,但卻不如我所期望的那般。生活可以是非常嚴苛的。若我們毫無準備,它的打擊可說是非常殘酷。我感覺自己就像一棵剛剛經歷了第一場風暴的小樹。在這個危難的時刻,我甚至想過輕生。但通過唱題,我重新喚起希望,決定不被打敗。

在長途跋涉去鼓勵其他創價學會會員的同時,我每週工作超過80個小時。這對我來說非常吃力。然而,我藉著所有的困難為生活打下堅實的基礎,我甚至湧現了一種非常歡喜的生命境界。儘管債台高築,我的首要目標仍然是開創自己的事業。我一直記得日蓮大聖人曾寫道:「苦樂與共,同唱南無妙法蓮華經可也。」

出乎意料的轉捩點

就在2017年7月,儘管面臨了許多挫折和更多的財務困境,這回我的態度完全不同了。我把經濟困難看作是促進個人成長的機會。然而,我琢磨的是該擴大我的外賣生意,還是結束它,到別處工作存錢創業。2017年11月,我再次下定決心,也更加清楚自己該如何做出決定。我必須關閉我的外賣店,暫時停下我的事業以節省資金,為未來想經營的餐廳做打算。

出乎意料的是,情況開始好轉。因為生活在貧困線以下,我能獲得國家的財政援助,得以償還所有欠下的租金和一半以上的債務。

擺盤亮麗的一道料理。
朱利安準備的一道菜 (照片來源:朱利安‧達爾蒂)

我和妹妹告訴村里的村長,我們即將關閉外賣店,但五年後我們會回來開一家餐館。結果此次與村長的交流成了關鍵,因為他把我們推薦給鄰近城鎮的鎮長。鎮長給我們提供了一個意想不到的機會:一家由我們決定一切的餐館。建構、規劃、瓷磚、油漆等支出全部由當地政府包辦,前六個月的租金也由他們支付。而之後的租金也相對便宜。太不可思議了!我的夢想竟然就這樣在我眼前實現。我成功變毒為藥

毅然挺拔而立

很有福運的,我的這家餐廳在2020年2月開業,而我也正全力投入其中。儘管碰上了2019冠狀病毒病疫情,但餐廳業務還是取得了巨大的成功。在封鎖期間,我們提供了外賣服務。隨之,餐廳準備的每一餐都被預訂一空。

曾經,我像一棵弱不經風的小樹;如今,終於長出了更強壯的樹幹亦紮下更深穩的根柢,準備好迎接下一場風暴。

2020年9月,當地市政廳為我們舉辦了盛大的開幕式。那天,我很榮幸招待了法國海外部部長、前國防部部長和諾曼底地區的首長來到我的餐廳作客。2021年1月,我獲頒久負盛名的法國廚師帽協會(Toques Françaises)的獎項。我的餐館在十幾篇文章中被報導,我甚至登上了新聞。

最關鍵的是,這場經歷成就了今天的我。曾經,我像一棵弱不經風的小樹;如今,終於長出了更強壯的樹幹亦紮下更深穩的根柢,準備好迎接下一場風暴。

來源: 2021年9月法國創價佛學會刊物Valeurs Humaines

A Time to Grow: Making the Unimaginable Possible

Julien Darty, France
Man in a chef’s uniform in a courtyard
[Photo courtesy of Julien Darty]

Julien Darty dreamt of becoming a great chef. Drawing strength from his Buddhist practice, he persevered for over a decade, facing both racism and financial setbacks along the way, and was able to make his dream a reality.

It was with the dream of becoming a great chef and having my own restaurant that I started practicing Buddhism in 2010. This was a very ambitious dream at that time as the reality was that I had no money to open a restaurant. My mother continuously encouraged me that through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo I could take on this great challenge.

In January 2011, I left Réunion Island, where I lived, to settle in a charming village in Normandy, France. I connected with a family who also practiced Nichiren Buddhism, and every week, we chanted and studied Buddhism together.

Although this village was very charming, racism was very present. Two months after my arrival, I was the victim of a shocking racist act. I was walking through the village streets when a man stopped next to me and, before running away, insulted me. Afterward, I felt bad and couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Building Friendships and Trust

I wanted to create trust in my environment so that I would never have to experience racism ever again.

As I continued in my Buddhist practice, many questions arising from this experience troubled me. I asked myself, “Why?” and “How can anyone be judged by the color of their skin?” I decided to follow the example of Bodhisattva Never Disparaging from the Lotus Sutra who never stopped believing in the good in people no matter what happened.      

I opened a takeout business with my sister and managed to save some money for my future restaurant. I wanted to create trust in my environment so that I would never have to experience racism ever again. I had several friendly exchanges with the mayor and the villagers—I always remained very courteous and offered a smile and kind words to everyone I met.

However, in July 2011, six months after the first incident, while I was selling my takeout food, I was again a victim of racism. But this time it was different. All the people I had engaged in dialogue with and built friendships with came to my defense. This showed me something had shifted in my village. And for me, things really began to change—my business began to grow and orders poured in.

Determined Perseverance

Despite the increase in sales, my income remained very low. My personal financial situation was deteriorating day by day, and I just couldn’t understand what the problem was, why my finances were so bad. I decided to persevere with the strong determination to transform my karma, to see actual proof that this Buddhist practice works.

Through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, I was able to draw forth hope and redetermine not to be defeated.

At the end of January 2015, I was overwhelmed by all my financial difficulties. I deeply wished to transform my financial karma. However, I got swindled out of a large sum of money. Despite all my efforts, I felt very fragile. It was true that life had given me the chance to grow more, but not in the way I had expected. Life can be very harsh, if you are not prepared, it can be brutal. I felt like a young tree that has just experienced its first storm. In this time of distress, I even considered ending my life, but through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, I was able to draw forth hope and redetermine not to be defeated.

As well as traveling long distances to encourage other Soka Gakkai members, I was working more than 80 hours per week, which was extremely demanding. However, I was able to use all my difficulties to create a solid foundation for my life, and I developed a very joyful state of life. In spite of all my debt, my priority still remained the same—starting my own business. I kept remembering Nichiren’s quote, “Regard both suffering and joy as facts of life, and continue chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, no matter what happens.”

An Unexpected Turn of Events

In July 2017, despite numerous setbacks and more financial difficulties appearing, this time my attitude was completely different. I viewed my financial difficulties as an opportunity for personal growth. However, I wondered whether to expand my takeout business or close it and work elsewhere to save money. In November 2017, I renewed my determination, and my decision became clear. I had to close my business and stop for a while to save money to open my restaurant in the future.

Unexpectedly, things started to look up, and because I was living below the poverty line, I was able to receive financial aid from the state and could pay off all my outstanding rent and more than half of my debt.

Beautifully presented plate of food
A dish prepared by Julien [Photo courtesy of Julien Darty]

My sister and I told the mayor of our village that we were closing our takeout business and that we would come back in five years to open a restaurant. This exchange turned out to be very important, as he recommended us to the mayor of the neighboring town who offered us the unimaginable: a restaurant for which we would decide everything. Construction, plans, tiling, painting, etc., were to be entirely paid by the town hall with the first six months’ rent paid and after that a low rent. It was incredible! My dream was suddenly taking shape before my eyes. I had changed poison into medicine.

Standing Tall, Standing Strong

I opened the restaurant in February 2020, and I am fully learning to enjoy my good fortune. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the business has been a big success. During the lockdowns, we were able to sell takeout food, and following that, the restaurant was completely booked out for every meal.

The ‘young tree’ that I was is finally developing a stronger trunk and deeper roots, ready to face the next storm.

In September 2020, the local city hall organized our grand opening. On that day, I had the honor of welcoming the French overseas minister, the former defense minister and the president of the Normandy Region to my establishment. In January 2021, I received the prestigious Toques Françaises award. My restaurant was mentioned in a dozen articles, and I even appeared on the news.

Above all, this experience has made me the person I am today. The young tree that I was is finally developing a stronger trunk and deeper roots, ready to face the next storm.

Adapted from the September 2021 issue of Valeurs Humaines, mouvement bouddhiste Soka.