超越平凡的人生

安唐・欧文-希克斯 英国
一名微笑的男士。
(© 安唐•欧文-希克斯)

Carreg Lafar乐团的安唐・欧文-希克斯(Antwn Owen-Hicks)值遇佛法,意外开启自己投入威尔士(或称威尔斯)传统音乐最前线的人生。

“各方面都很平庸”是我在开始信仰日莲佛法前,对自己的看法。年轻的我愤世嫉俗,对不公不义的事看不顺眼,对于没有特别专长的自己,也感到消极与不快乐。

1989年,我认识了西蒙(Simon),他邀请我参加一场英国SGI的活动,让我初次接触了日莲佛法。我当年23岁,在伦敦取得艺术学位后,刚回到位于南威尔士的故乡。对于佛法,我几乎一无所知,只觉得唱念“南无妙法莲华经(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)”(这个行为称为“唱题”)似乎有点奇特。然而,在活动结束时,我发现自己忍不住地微笑。我无法解释为何如此,只觉得强烈的幸福感从自己的内心当中涌现出来。为了更进一步了解佛法,我很快便开始修行

你的生命剧本,只能靠你自己写出来。你是自己生命故事的编剧,同时也是其中的明星演员。

在威尔士,我们有自己独特的语言称作Cymraeg,是凯尔特语的一种。在威尔士于十六世纪被併入英格兰王国之后,威尔士语被英国人认为是低等的语言而遭污名化。我的曾祖母是家族中最后一位会说威尔士语的成员,在我长大的过程中,家里已经没有人使用这个语言,因此我并不特别觉得自己是威尔士人,跟这个文化也没有实质的个人连结。

这一切在我搬到伦敦之后起了变化。来自小镇的我,在伦敦这个大城市里觉得很不自在,没有归属感。我想进一步了解我的故乡,自己的兴趣也逐渐地从朋克(或称庞克)摇滚乐转移到家乡威尔士的民俗音乐、文化以及语言。

在持续进行佛道修行中,我开始发现创价学会对于推动和平、文化、教育的重视和自己对威尔士文化与日俱增的热情并行不悖、相辅相成,就像将拼图一片一片放到正确的位置,视野豁然开朗。我决定为发展威尔士文化做出贡献。

回音石

大约在我结识西蒙同时,我也认识了另一位创价学会会员詹姆斯。由于我们三个人都对民俗音乐有兴趣,就决定组成一个乐团,以便在地方性的创价学会活动中表演。

3名男士和2名女士面向镜头,其中部分的人拿着乐器。
Carreg Lafar乐团的成员。从左至右:安唐、里安・埃文-琼斯(Rhian Evan-Jones)、丹尼・基尔布赖德(Danny KilBride)、詹姆斯・鲁尔克(James Rourke)以及琳达・欧文・琼斯(Linda Owen Jones)。 (© David Barnes)

1991年,出现了一个转捩点。我得以在一场英国SGI全国性的青年活动上演出传统的威尔士民俗歌曲,获得了未曾预料的广大回响。次年,英国SGI在著名的伦敦守护神剧院举办大型活动,我得以再次表演同样的曲目,未来的妻子琳达当时就坐在台下观赏。

不久之后,Carreg Lafar乐团诞生了。团名的意思是“回音石”,之所以如此命名,是因为我们认为传统其实在对着我们说话,就如同从过去传来的回音。会说威尔士语的琳达成为了乐团的主唱。在小提琴手里安也加入之后,乐团有了崭新的开始。

在这期间,我接下了英国SGI青年领导人的使命,全力在幕后支持英国SGI于英国各地举办的地方性以及全国性会议。

1994年,我们的乐团在英国SGI大型活动上演出,创价学会第三任会长池田大作当时正访问英国,也出席了这场活动。在这个活动之前,我们录制了一首试听曲目,并寄给了威尔士一家唱片公司。令人惊讶的是,他们居然问我们是否愿意录制一整张专辑。不论唱的是哪种语言的歌曲,使人们产生连结、感动人们,一直是推动乐团前进的力量。在接到这个邀请的那一瞬间,我们的热情终于有了实际的成果。

我们在1996年发行了第一张专辑,同年,更将表演事业向外扩展,首度在法国布列塔尼大区的洛里昂凯尔特国际音乐节(Festival Interceltique de Lorient)演出。这是全球最大的凯尔特文化庆典,在每年的8月举行,为期10天。人们来到此地演出音乐及舞蹈节目,每天有大约7万人次参与。琳达当时怀有8个月身孕,一个月之后,我们的女儿塞伦(Seren)来到人世。

威尔士之年

塞伦出生时被诊断有双足内翻的问题,为了日后能够走路,两隻脚踝都必须接受重大手术。对我们而言,她出生后的两年间是项莫大的挑战。

琳达和我在随着乐团跨国巡迴演出的同时,也唱题祈求能得到一份全职的工作。威尔士艺术委员会是一个致力于推动艺术、文化的组织,当时正在招募新职位的人才,虽然我几乎没什么经验,还是提出了申请。我唱题祈求,更为了面试,做了比以往申请任何工作都更充分的准备。最后我得到了这份全职工作,并在1998年开始在那上班。

2008年,洛里昂凯尔特国际音乐节将主题订为“威尔士之年”(The Year of Wales),原本一直带领威尔士代表团的负责人却突然决定辞掉这项任务。我被要求接下他的工作,并在仅剩5个月准备期的情况下,很快地承担了要领导这个重大活动的责任。

就在此刻,我在英国SGI的青年活动中,累积的企划以及支援方面的经验全部派上用场,以往的磨练都发挥最大价值。我自20多岁开始投入创价学会的活动、修行佛法,加上我在乐团的经验以及对威尔士文化的关注,一切都汇聚在这场音乐盛会中。

在这场音乐节之后,我继续担任威尔士团的领导人,负责活动的幕后筹划及准备工作。在威尔士艺术委员会,我已经成为一名对威尔士民俗音乐领域富有知识和经验的人,支援新的发展以及活动,其中的一项工作重点是支持年轻的世代。如今,有比以往更多的年轻人对民俗音乐感到有兴趣。

2019年,我参与了协助英国广播公司(BBC)的威尔士电台以及用威尔士语广播的全国性Cymru电台,创设第一届威尔士民俗奖(Wales Folk Awards)的工作。能够为威尔士民俗音乐设置专门的奖项,本身就是一个重要的里程碑。

池田会长鼓励我们,你的生命剧本,只能靠你自己写出来。你是自己生命故事的编剧,同时也是其中的明星演员。我在30年前开始信仰佛法时,只希望能不再是“平庸的人”,当时怎样也无法想像自己能演出一出这么精采的人生戏剧。我决意,要继续为深爱的家乡威尔士的发展努力,以支持创价学会推动和平、文化和教育的使命。

来源: 2021年3月8日《圣教新闻》

A More Than Average Life

Antwn Owen-Hicks, UK
A smiling man
[© Antwn Owen-Hicks]

For Antwn Owen-Hicks, of the band Carreg Lafar, a life at the forefront of the Welsh traditional music scene began unexpectedly with an encounter with Buddhism.

“Mr. Average at everything”—this is how I viewed myself before I started practicing Nichiren Buddhism. I was an angry young man, angry about injustice. I was also unhappy and negative, mainly about myself and my lack of skills.

I met Nichiren Buddhism in 1989 after being introduced to Simon, who invited me to an SGI-UK meeting. I was 23 and had just returned to my hometown in South Wales after getting my art degree in London. I had little knowledge of Buddhism, and the chanting seemed a bit strange. But, by the end of the meeting, I found myself smiling irrepressibly. I couldn’t explain why, but I felt immense happiness emerge from me. I wanted to learn more and joined the practice shortly after.

Only you can write the script of your life . . . You write the story of your own life, and you are its star player.

In Wales, we have our own distinct language called “Cymraeg,” a Celtic language. After Wales was incorporated into the Kingdom of England in the 16th century, the Welsh language was considered by the English to be inferior and was stigmatized. My great-grandmother was the last Welsh speaker in my family, and the language had been lost in my family by the time I grew up. As a result, I didn’t feel particularly Welsh, and I had no real personal relationship with the culture.

All of this changed after I lived in London. Coming from a small town, I couldn’t feel at home in London’s big city. I wanted to learn more about where I came from, and gradually my interest shifted from punk rock to the folk music, culture and language of my native Wales.

Then, as my Buddhist practice progressed, I began to see that the Soka Gakkai’s emphasis on activities that promote peace, culture and education went hand-in-hand with my growing passion for Welsh culture. It was like pieces of a puzzle coming together; I decided to make a determination to contribute to the development of Welsh culture.

Echo Stone

Around the time I met Simon, I also met James, another Soka Gakkai member. All three of us were interested in folk music, so we decided to form a band to perform at local Buddhist activities.

Three men and two women, some holding musical instruments, facing the camera
Carreg Lafar. From left to right: Antwn, Rhian Evan-Jones, Danny KilBride, James Rourke and Linda Owen Jones. [© David Barnes]

A turning point came in 1991, when I had the opportunity to perform a traditional Welsh folk song at a national SGI-UK youth activity. The response was totally unexpected and overwhelming. The following year, SGI-UK held its general meeting at the famous London Palladium, and I was able to perform the song again. Sitting in the audience was my future wife, Linda.

Sometime after, the band Carreg Lafar, meaning Echo Stone, was born. We chose the name based on the idea that tradition is “speaking” to us, like an echo from the past. Linda, who spoke Welsh, became the vocalist. We also welcomed a fiddle player, Rhian, and our band made a fresh departure.

In the meantime, I took on youth leadership roles in SGI-UK and was active in behind-the-scenes support for local- and national-level meetings throughout the UK.

In 1994, our band performed at the SGI-UK General Meeting, which was attended by Daisaku Ikeda, third Soka Gakkai president, who was visiting the UK at the time. Before this event, we recorded a demo and decided to send it to a Welsh record company. To my astonishment, they asked if we’d like to record an album. Our driving force as a band was always to connect people, to move people regardless of the language we are singing in. It was a moment that our passion manifested as a tangible result.

We released our first album in 1996. That year, we further expanded our activities when we performed for the first time at the Festival Interceltique de Lorient in Brittany, France. This is the largest celebration of Celtic culture in the world. For ten days in August each year, people gather here to perform music and dance. About 70,000 people visit each day. Linda was eight months pregnant at the time, and a month later, our beautiful daughter Seren was born.

The Year of Wales

Seren was born with double talipes and needed major operations on both ankles to enable her to walk. It was a huge challenge for us all over her first two years.

As for myself and Linda, we were traveling with the band for international tours while chanting for a new full-time job. The Arts Council of Wales (an organization dedicated to promoting arts and culture) advertised a brand-new post, and although I had little experience, I applied. I chanted and prepared more for that interview than I had done for any other job before. I got the job as a full-time employee and started working there in 1998.

In 2008, the theme for the Festival Interceltique de Lorient was “The Year of Wales.” The person who had been leading the Welsh delegation up to that time suddenly decided to step down, and I was requested to take his place. Very quickly, I became responsible for leading this massive activity, with only five months to plan!

All of the invaluable experience I had received in planning and supporting SGI-UK youth activities came in to play. This was the culmination of everything I had been doing until then. My dedicated Soka Gakkai activities and Buddhist practice since my 20s, my band work and interest in Welsh culture—all came together in this festival.

I’ve been the Welsh delegate leader since then, organizing and preparing for the event behind the scenes. At the Arts Council of Wales, I’ve become a person with knowledge and experience of the Welsh folk music scene, supporting new developments and activities. One important aspect of this includes supporting younger generations. Today, more young people are interested in folk music than ever.

In 2019, I was involved in helping to create the first Wales Folk Awards in partnership with BBC Radio Wales and Radio Cymru, the national Welsh-speaking radio station. The creation of an award specific to Welsh folk music was a milestone moment.

President Ikeda tells us that “only you can write the script of your life . . . You write the story of your own life, and you are its star player.” When I started practicing Buddhism 30 years ago, hoping to overcome being “Mr. Average,” I would have never imagined myself enacting this drama of life. I aim to continue to work for the development of my beloved native Wales in support of the Soka Gakkai’s mission to promote peace, culture and education.

Adapted from an article in the March 8, 2021, issue of the Seikyo Shimbun, Soka Gakkai, Japan.