為孩子幸福竭盡心力

黃麗鴻 台灣
黃麗鴻站在她和學童、老師以及家長們打招呼的校門口 (© 創價新聞)

來自台灣創價學會的小學校長黃麗鴻受到創價教育以人為本、以學生為中心的思想所啟發,將學生和教職員的福祉置於首位,推動校園內一系列的改變,獲得國家級獎項。

我是在2008年生了重病後開始修行佛法。那一年11月,因為嚴重腹痛、嘔吐不止,昏倒後被送醫。自此之後需要不斷進出醫院,看遍中西醫都沒有效果。除了挑戰身體狀況,我也因為和丈夫有著相同執著的個性而常起爭執。孩子為了要照顧我,必須請假,無法正常上學。當時不僅工作受到影響,連就讀的博士班也幾乎要放棄。

就在走投無路時,想到了友人曾和我提過唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」的力量。

就在走投無路時,想到了友人曾和我提過唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題)的力量。不久後,我開始修行日蓮佛法,加入創價學會。很感謝身旁一直有會員親切地陪我唱題、照顧我並且鼓勵我。他們鼓勵我透過信心,挑戰自身困難,使自己成長,也幫助與自己有同樣遭遇的人獲得幸福。記得前輩曾說,並非幸福了才掛著笑容,而是笑容魅力能把幸福吸引到身邊。從此我開始笑臉迎人地面對每場挑戰。

修行日蓮佛法大約半年,我的病已完全痊癒。看到我的改變,丈夫也開始信仰。

人本教育

2012年7月,我順利取得國立嘉義大學教育學博士學位。之後參加校長考試,獲得第三名佳績。

在創價教育之父,也是創價學會第一任會長牧口常三郎的心中,教育的目的是為了孩子的幸福。擔任台灣雲林縣一個小學的校長後,自我期許本著創價教育的人本理念辦學,創造正面的改變。

我每天都先唱題,祈求學校師生團結一致、孩子幸福快樂,才展開一天的奮戰。每天早上,我都會站在校門口跟每一個孩子、老師及家長打招呼。我也盡全力關心老師,給予支持,增進信賴。

剛接任該校的校長時,面對沒有經費、資源的窘況,只能唱題祈求自己能帶領教職員積極投入教學及改善環境。

有一位原本完全不與同事們互動,家長反映不好的老師,我鼓勵他要發揮生命的價值,當孩子們的貴人,並開設中午數學創意班,讓他能發揮所長,嘉惠學生,因而重新贏得家長的信賴。後來這位老師主動擔任訓導組長,由於他用心培育學生,學校因此獲得台灣教育部「品德教育特色學校」的表揚。

積極行動

創價教育的理念也啟發我成立愛心志工隊,從1位領頭羊到現在26位成員,共同合作幫助孩童學習。為了幫助這群偏鄉弱勢的孩子得到更多照顧,我開辦每天免費課後才藝班,以減輕家長的經濟壓力,建立孩子們的自信。才藝班贏得了社區的支持,部分校友或善心人士得知才藝班的消息後,竟出錢贊助。

將原來「又醜又不好玩」的校園,改造成「又美又有趣味」的生態繪本花園,隨處可見學生的創意結晶。

由於受到創價學會推動環境可持續性(或稱環境永續)的影響,6年來,我帶著學校推動生態、節能教育,打造生態池,設計綠色電力課程。2014年,獲得生態有機校園甲等認證,隔年獲得校務評鑑特優、教師專業和課程教學、學生學習表現第一名、縣課程計畫特優等表揚。此外,致力於將老舊廢棄的公共設施重新打造成閱讀空間、藝廊等,陳設學生的美術作品。將原來「又醜又不好玩」的校園,改造成「又美又有趣味」的生態繪本花園,隨處可見學生的創意結晶。

2018年,我陸續獲得教育部及縣政府頒發的數個獎項,包括全國性殊榮「師鐸獎」、教學卓越金質獎,我何德何能獲獎!這完全要歸功於大家的努力。

池田大作鼓勵我們要充分發揮自己的天分,在各自的領域成為一流的人才,如此一來,我們就能為世界和平貢獻己力。

佛道修行是成就我做為一個教育工作者的動力,我決心在利他的人生大道上再接再厲,讓更多人獲得幸福。

來源: 2019年5月10日台灣創價學會刊物《創價新聞》

Putting Children’s Happiness First

Huang Lihong, Taiwan
""
Huang Lihong standing at the school gate where she greets the schoolchildren, teachers and parents [© Soka Press]

Inspired by the humanistic, student-centered ideals of Soka education, primary school principal Huang Lihong of Taiwan Soka Association talks about how putting the well-being of students, staff and faculty first helped revolutionize every aspect of the school, eventually leading it to gain national recognition.

I started practicing Buddhism after becoming seriously ill in 2008. In November of that year, I was admitted to the hospital after fainting from a severe stomachache and experiencing nonstop vomiting. This was the beginning of many hospital visits. Neither Western nor traditional Chinese medicine seemed to help. On top of battling my physical condition, my husband and I fought constantly owing to us both being stubborn individuals. My children had to take leave from school to take care of me. Both my work and my studies as a PhD student were affected to the point that I felt like giving up.

Just as I felt I had come to a dead end, I recalled what a friend told me about chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

Just as I felt I had come to a dead end, I recalled what a friend told me about chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. Soon after that, I began practicing Nichiren Buddhism and joined the Soka Gakkai. I feel very fortunate to have been surrounded by wonderful fellow members who often chanted with me, took care of me and encouraged me. They inspired me to grow and encouraged me, saying that by overcoming my challenges I would be able to help those struggling with similar issues become happy. I also remember a senior in faith telling me that a sincere smile is the cause for happiness, not only the result of it. From then on, I met every challenge with a cheerful smile.

After practicing Nichiren Buddhism for six months, I recovered my health completely. Seeing the changes in me, my husband began to practice Buddhism as well.

Humanistic Education

In July 2012, I received a doctorate degree in education from the National Chiayi University in Taiwan. I took the exam to become a school principal and scored third highest among all participants.

Tsunesaburo Makiguchi, first president of the Soka Gakkai and father of Soka (value-creating) education, defined the purpose of education as children’s happiness. After becoming principal of a primary school in Yunlin County in Taiwan, I determined to run the school on the humanistic ideals of Soka education and create positive change.

I begin each day by chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo with a prayer for unity among all the members of the school community and for the happiness of all the students. Every morning, I stand at the gate of the school to greet each student, teacher and parent. I also do my best to reach out to teachers to offer support and build trust.

When I first became principal of the school, faced with a meager budget and few resources, all I could do was chant that I would be able to motivate all the teachers and staff to be fully engaged in teaching and making our school a better place.

There was one teacher who had no interaction with his colleagues and received negative reviews from the parents. I encouraged him that he could definitely create value and be a great help to the students. I set up a lunchtime math workshop, which I asked him to run. Through this, he was able to bring his talent into play, assist students and regain the parents’ trust. He later proactively took on the role of chairperson of student affairs. Owing to his engagement with the students, our school was recognized by Taiwan’s Ministry of Education as a model of character-building education.

Initiatives

Other inspirations I had from the principles of Soka education were to establish a volunteer group to assist students in learning. From only one member initially, it has grown to twenty-six. To provide care for underprivileged students from remote areas, I initiated free daily after-school elective classes. These relieved the economic pressure on parents and helped students develop confidence. The classes also garnered support from the local community. To my surprise, after hearing about the initiative, alumni and anonymous donors voluntarily offered financial sponsorship.

The school went from an untidy and dull campus to a beautiful and fun ‘picture book’ filled with students’ creative artworks.

Inspired by the Soka Gakkai’s promotion of environmental sustainability, over the past six years I have advocated ecological and energy conservation education, built an ecological pond and designed lessons on green power. In 2014, we were certified as a first-class eco-friendly campus. The following year, we got “excellent” in a school evaluation, top ratings in teachers’ professionalism and pedagogy as well as students’ performances. Also, our curriculum design was lauded by the county authorities. In addition, we turned worn-out, unused facilities into reading corners for students and gallery spaces where they could display their artwork. The school went from an untidy and dull campus to a beautiful and fun “picture book” filled with students’ creative artworks.

Owing to the success of our efforts, in 2018, I received several awards from the Ministry of Education and the county, including the National Excellent Teacher Award and the Teaching Excellence Gold Award, both of which were a massive surprise.

Daisaku Ikeda encourages us to unleash our inherent potential and become first-rate people in our respective fields, saying that by doing so we are able to contribute to building peace in the world.

My Buddhist practice has been the driving force for my achievements as an educator, and I am determined to continue to lead a contributive life in order to help others become happy.


Adapted from the May 10, 2019, issue of Soka Press Taiwan Soka Association.