讓我的大學實現碳中和

菲利普・阿爾溫德・弗蘭克 德國
菲利普・弗蘭克和兩頭牛站在田裡。

在自己感興趣或努力的領域中,我們每一個人都有能力創造或促進正面的改變。菲利普・阿爾溫德・弗蘭克(Philip Arvind Franck)親身體會到,這不僅僅是理論上的想法。

我在2017年離開家鄉漢堡,到布倫瑞克工業大學就讀環境工程,夢想是與他人合作,促使世界變得更好,甚至解決這個時代面臨最大的難題之一──人類導致的氣候變化。

我全心全意地學習,認識許多志同道合的朋友,並經常和大家分享我的抱負。然而,當時的我並沒有為我的理想採取任何具體的行動。心想:我怎麼能辦到?我畢竟只是個學生。將來,我就真的能學以致用。

2019年,被格蕾塔‧通貝里以及全球成千上萬學生一馬當先的行動鼓舞,我校的幾個學生齊聚一堂,希望展開除了讀書以外的行動,為全球變暖和環境污染等問題,尋求具體、地方上的解決方案。雖然進行方式還不是很明確,但是光是知道有我們環境工程圈子以外的學生加入,而且大家目標一致、同心同德,就已經令人感到雀躍。全校有越來越多學生響應。

踏出第一步

池田大作會長寫到:「由於氣候變化的問題無人能夠倖免,為了謀求對策,它有可能成為一個契機,促使全球人類達致前所未有的團結和行動。而我們能否激發這一潛力,其成敗正是我們這個時代的決定性問題。」

禮堂裡充滿等待講者上台的學生
大學全體會議的出席率超乎預期 © Students for Future Braunschweig

我發覺:我們可以做些什麼,我們也必須做些什麼。如何進行已經不是重點,踏出第一步才是關鍵。秉持著那樣的決心,我投身其中。很快地,「布倫瑞克的未來由學生捍衛」(Students for Future Braunschweig)團體成立。不過,馬上就遇到一個重大挑戰。為了讓校方聽取我們的訴求,全體大會必須至少有1000名學生參加。學校在過去12年,不曾有過這樣的紀錄,況且我們只剩下兩周的時間籌辦!

這段期間,我不斷地唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(這個行為稱為「唱題」),四處奔走。即使不是我們報名的課,我們也會到課堂上宣傳,還在各式各樣的WhatsApp群組中發布消息,拼命地發傳單。我也很自然地和好幾位同學談起佛法(有兩位同學已開始修行佛法)。在唱題的時候,我逐漸體會到,信仰和我生活的各個層面都息息相關;也領悟到,自身的突破與正面改變可以鼓舞他人,他們再去啟發別人,這些漣漪會繼而形成一波波可持續的變革浪潮。

最後,1700位學生出席氣候全體大會,與大學的主席團討論地方上的氣候問題,我甚至有幸在大會上演講。雖然籌辦過程非常不容易,但是我非常感謝有機會為我們的共同目標做出重大貢獻。

人為因素

在撰寫本文之時,全體大會至今已過了一年。一路來,難關重重,但因為我們從未放棄,最終都能過關斬將。如今,大學定期舉辦一系列由知名教授主講的公開氣候講座、學校餐廳現在改為供應可持續糧食(或稱永續糧食),此外,主席團設立了由教授組成的可持續理事會,其根本使命在於讓學校實現碳中和。不可思議的是,我受邀以學生代表的身分加入該理事會。起初,想到責任重大就有一些猶豫。後來在一位德國SGI會員的鼓勵下,我毅然決然地答應了!

我們不能低估一個人,尤其是一群人,抱持著堅定的精神努力後,可以取得的成就。

在開始大學生涯時,我腦中是有個想法沒錯,我也會開始跟朋友討論,但是從未想像自己能就這個想法採取這麼多行動。另一件令我驚喜的事是發覺我的信仰和我的一舉一動息息相關。課堂教導我,人可以從技術層面處理許多問題。例如:建造更多的風力渦輪機(或稱風力發電機)或太陽能板。然而,長遠來說,有些環境問題並非從技術層面就能解決,唯有回到最根本的人的層面,從人的意識、行動、互動和創意出發,方能解決。

通過這個經驗,我學到不要小看自己可以為理想、使命奔走的能力。我們不能低估一個人,尤其是一群人,抱持著堅定的精神努力後,可以取得的成就。我也體會到,當個人進行人間革命(人性變革),「成為自己想看到的改變」,就已經在對解決如氣候變化等全球問題做出重大貢獻。以上是我想和別人分享的。

我決心,身為布倫瑞克工業大學的學生,我們一定會齊心帶領學校在2030年以前實現碳中和。

來源: 2020年9月第352期德國SGI刊物 Express

Creating a Carbon-Neutral University

Philip Arvind Franck, Germany
Philip Frank standing in a field with two cows

Each of us, in our own field of interest or endeavor, has the power to create or catalyze positive change. As Philip Arvind Franck discovered, this is not merely a theoretical idea.

In 2017, I moved from my hometown Hamburg, Germany, to study environmental engineering at TU Braunschweig (University of Braunschweig—Institute of Technology) with a vision of collaborating with others to help bring about positive change in the world and maybe even solve one of the biggest issues of our age: human-induced climate change.

I immersed myself in my studies, met lots of like-minded friends and spoke often with others about my aspirations. However, I hadn’t yet begun to take any practical action toward that vision. How would I even be able to do that? After all, I was still only a student, I thought. Later on, I would be able to really implement all my knowledge and experience.

In 2019, encouraged by the pioneering actions of Greta Thunberg and millions of students around the globe, a small group of fellow students in our university came together with the wish to take action beyond simply studying and seek out concrete, local solutions to the issues of global warming and environmental pollution. The question of “How” was still not clear, but just the fact that there were students coming together from beyond our environmental engineering bubble, people united by the same goal, was very exciting. It became a magnet for students throughout the university.

Taking the First Step

President Daisaku Ikeda writes: “Because climate change is an issue that will leave no one untouched, it has the potential to catalyze heretofore unseen global solidarity and action. Our success or failure in actualizing this potential is in fact the defining issue of our time.”

A hall filled with students awaiting speakers to come on stage
The university plenary meeting, which exceeded all expectations for participation
© Students for Future Braunschweig

It became clear to me: we can and we must do something. It was not so much about the “how”; it was more about taking the first step. With that resolve, I threw myself into this initiative. Within a short time, Students for Future Braunschweig was established. However, we were immediately confronted with a major challenge. In order for the university to hear our concerns, we needed to convene at least 1,000 students in a plenary assembly. This had not happened at the university in the past 12 years. And we had two weeks to pull it off!

During this time, I chanted a lot and took as much action as I could. We crashed lectures, posted messages in all kinds of WhatsApp groups and distributed flyers as if there was no tomorrow. I also very naturally got into conversations about Buddhism with several fellow students (two of whom have since begun practicing Buddhism). While chanting, it became more and more clear to me how everything was connected with my faith; how breakthroughs and positive changes in my own life could create ripples of inspiration resulting in sustainable change.

Eventually, 1,700 students came to a climate plenary assembly to discuss our local climate issues with our university presidium. I even had the opportunity to give a speech on this occasion. Pulling all this off was an extraordinary challenge, but I also felt very grateful for being able to make such a big contribution toward our mutual goal.

The Human Factor

A year has now passed, at the time of writing. The path to this point has been one of trials and tribulations but also a total success, because we have never given up. Our university now holds a regular public climate lecture series with prestigious professors, our cafeteria has shifted to serving sustainable food and the presidium has initiated a sustainability council comprised of professors with the direct mission of leading our university to carbon neutrality. Most wonderfully, I was asked to join the council as a student representative. At first, I hesitated, in light of the huge responsibility. However, encouraged by a member of SGI-Germany, I resolutely said yes!

A group of ten men and women, members of the sustainability council, pose in front of a projection screen
The university’s sustainability council; Philip second from left [Photo by Jule Bobzin; © TU Braunschweig]

At the beginning of my studies, I had had an idea in my head. Then I started to talk about it. But I never imagined that I would be able to take so much action on that idea. Another surprise was realizing the connection between my faith and my actions. During my studies, I have learned that we can approach many problems on a technical level, for example, by constructing more wind turbines or solar panels. However, there are environmental problems that are not going to be solved on a technical level in the long run but merely on the human level—through our awareness, actions, interactions and creativity.

Through this experience I have learned not to deprecate my ability to take action toward my vision or sense of mission: we should never underestimate what each of us—and especially each of us together—can achieve with a resolute spirit. I have also come to see that, as individuals pursuing our human revolution—striving to “be the change we wish to see”—we are already making an important contribution to resolving global problems such as climate change. This is what I would like to share with others.

I’m determined that, as students of TU Braunschweig, we will together lead our university to carbon neutrality by 2030.

Adapted from issue 352 of Express, September 2020, SGI-Germany.