希望即永不放弃

维多利亚‧史密斯  美国
(照片来源:Martha Manzanares)

在学习如何关怀他人的过程中,维多利亚‧史密斯(Victoria Smith)克服了抑郁症给她带来的挑战,并扩大了自己的人生格局。

我在高中四年级开始患上抑郁症。连续数日,我不停地哭,直到无法继续为止。我的家族病史中有精神疾病,不过除此之外并没有其他可能会引起发病的具体因素。我有了不起的父母,考上了耶鲁大学,在经济上没有困难,甚至能到世界各地旅游。即便身处如此幸福的环境,我仍无法克服内心的痛苦。我无法珍视自己的生命,甚至为了想逃避痛苦而考虑自杀。

转捩点

在大学四年级的那一年,经朋友邀请,我第一次参加了创价学会的座谈会。唱念“南无妙法莲华经”(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)的声音、会员们的经历以及这些来自不同背景的人们所展现的真诚喜悦很快吸引了我。我感到非常有归属感。

通过修行佛法,我开始拥有希望。这是很大的人生变化,也是这个修行对我有帮助的实证。我的人生也有其他积极的改变──一段新恋情、一辆新车、创价学会的前辈给我的指导也帮助我看清事物的本质。更重要的是,我虽然当时没有察觉,不过我正踏上人生正确的道路。

我再度感到抑郁、自卑,还泄气地哭了好多天,觉得自己是个失败者。

我开始考虑成为一名能提供人性化服务的医生,希望能为与精神和身体疾病搏斗的母亲及他人提供更好的照顾。在为就读医学院(即再接受多十年的教育)做打算的同时,我加入了“为美国而教”,在一间小学教了两年的书。为美国而教是一个招收大学毕业生在低收入户学校执教的非营利组织。

我一向来成绩优良,不过学习如何进行课堂管理和激励学生对我而言十分困难。我再度感到抑郁、自卑,还泄气地哭了好多天,觉得自己是个失败者。我不断唱念“南无妙法莲华经”(这个行为称为“唱题”),想着要在第一年过后放弃。与创价学会的前辈分享感受后,她回应:“你选择加入时,不就已经决定要付出两年吗?”她鼓励我正面应对挑战,在所在之处赢取胜利。

找寻灵感

我努力阅读池田大作在教育方面所给予的鼓励,也每天阅读美国SGI的刊物。我感受到人生导师池田先生在告诉我,身为年轻女性,我拥有幸福的权利,我绝对不能放弃梦想。他写道:“希望能带来无限的珍宝;希望能引出人类的潜能;希望正是能让我们梦想成真的‘法宝’”。

受到池田先生的启发,我祈求每一位学生的成长与幸福,进行家庭访问;在创价学会中担任年轻女性领导的职务,也在活动中尽全力。观念上有了转变后,我能真正理解每一位学生的处境并取得他们的信任。我透过这个经历学会了永不放弃的重要性。

决定从医后,我在执教的第二年开始在夜间修读医学院的预备课程。履行了与为美国而教的两年义务后,我继续修读预备课程,并在一间社区学院担任独立研究协调员(Independent Study Coordinator),之后进入哈佛医学院。

不放弃任何人

修行佛法让我学会如何战胜自己的绝望,尊重每一个人的生命尊严。因为我抱持着希望,相信每一位患者的潜能,所以我从不放弃任何一个人。我的患者并不会被疾病左右,他们身处“史密斯战队”。透过清楚了解自身的情况,史密斯战队的队员们有自信帮助自己克服病情。身为医生,我总是问自己,能为患者做些什么,总是提醒他们,他们能够取得胜利。我尝试更好地理解他们,了解他们的个人习惯,珍惜每一个缘分。以自己的言行举止展现佛法的核心精神。

我的决心是,只要有我在,医院一定会是最温暖的地方,不会有消极的余地。

创价学会的活动教我如何认真地祈求每一人的幸福,并不遗余力地帮助每一个人获得幸福。我抱持同样的精神协助患者和同事。我的决心是,只要有我在,医院一定会是最温暖的地方,不会有消极的余地。

创价学会的活动也给了我不断扩展人生格局的勇气。我曾担任各种职务──在路易斯安那的一个庞大医疗体系里担任医生领导人和董事会成员,甚至曾拥有私人诊所。这一路走来,每当熟悉的抑郁症状又出现时,我努力唱题,提醒自己决心要身为池田大作的弟子绽放光芒。2018年,凭着在专业领域和社区中的成就,我获选《新奥尔良城市商报》(New Orleans CityBusiness)“年度杰出女性”(Woman of the Year)。

照耀他人

我想成为能培育他人的人。在年少时期,我在很多时候都不相信自己的潜能,可是有许多卓越的女性坚定地支持我。接下来,我也想这么支持下一代。

2019冠状病毒病疫情使我有机会透过佛法修行支持同事和患者。身为一个大型团体执业的副医疗总监(associate medical director),我诊治患者,也督导、支持不同专业的医生。面对患者时,我回应他们的需求,教导他们如何应对2019冠状病毒病的现实挑战,如何保持安全。身为医生领导人,我曾需要安抚歇斯底里的下属,照顾看护者。基于自己在当地创价学会组织女性领导人的经验,我了解为他人服务有多么重要,所以我倾全力帮助身边的医生、同事及所有共事的人提升生命境界。通过唱题和学习佛法,我能在不明朗的危机时代持续抱持希望,也将希望带给他人。

在一次团队会议上,我问同事们:“在疫情中,你们观察到哪些正面的事?”每一个人都有回应。当地餐馆捐赠食物给医护人员;无论是否是自己的工作,医生、职员等都现身提供支援。看到这么多人意识到并提升菩萨的生命境界(慈悲地支持,关怀他人的意愿)是多么美好的事。

池田大作祈愿疫情能尽快结束,所以我自告奋勇加入冠状病毒疫苗的试验。因为参与试验,国家新闻节目以及如《华尔街日报》、《读者文摘》和《纽约客》等国家级期刊皆报导我的消息。我要与全世界分享变毒为药的意义。

来源: 2019年1月美国SGI刊物《活的佛法》

The Tenacity of Hope

Victoria Smith, USA
""
[Photo by Martha Manzanares]

By broadening her capacity to care for others, Victoria Smith has overcome the crippling effects of depression and expanded her life beyond her expectations.

In my senior year of high school, I began suffering with depression. For days, I would just cry until I couldn’t cry anymore. Mental illness has been part of my family history, and there weren’t any specific triggers for my depression. I had great parents, I got into Yale University, I didn’t struggle financially, and I traveled the world. But those great circumstances didn’t address the darkness within me. I struggled to value my own life and contemplated suicide as a way to cope with the pain.

The Turning Tide

I was a senior in college when a friend invited me to my first Soka Gakkai discussion meeting. I was immediately drawn to chanting, the experiences of members and the genuine joy I saw in such a diverse group of people. I felt I had found my home.

Through Buddhist practice, I began to feel a sense of hope. This was a major change in my life and major proof that the practice was working. I saw other positive changes too—a new relationship, a new car and guidance from a senior in faith that helped me see things for what they were. More importantly, without knowing it then, I was getting on the right path for my life.

This brought out my old friends of depression and low self-esteem, and I spent many days crying out of frustration and feeling like a failure.

I began thinking about becoming a humanistic physician who could provide better care to my mother and others who struggled with mental and physical illness. While I contemplated pursuing medical school (which would be another 10 years of schooling), I taught elementary school for two years with the Teach For America program, a nonprofit organization that recruits college graduates to teach in low-income schools.

I had always been successful academically, but learning to manage a class and motivate students was difficult. This brought out my old friends of depression and low self-esteem, and I spent many days crying out of frustration and feeling like a failure. I chanted and chanted, thinking that I should give up after my first year. When I shared this with a senior in faith, she responded, “Didn’t you sign up for a two-year commitment?” and encouraged me to stand and win where I was.

Finding Inspiration

I desperately sought out Daisaku Ikeda’s encouragement on education and read SGI-USA publications every day. I felt Mr. Ikeda, my mentor, was saying to me that, as a young woman, I deserved to be happy and that I should never give up on my dreams. He writes: “When we possess the treasure of hope, it gives rise to other treasures, too. Hope draws forth our inner potential and strength. Hope is a magic weapon that enables us to make our dreams come true.”

Inspired by his encouragement, I chanted for each student’s growth and happiness, visited each of them at their homes and strove to do my best in Soka Gakkai activities as a young women’s leader. Through this shift in my determination, I developed a genuine understanding of each student’s circumstances and gained their trust. This experience taught me the value of never giving up.

During my second year of teaching, I began to take premed classes at night, having decided that I wanted to pursue a career in medicine. After completing my two-year teaching commitment with Teach For America, I continued taking premed courses and worked at a community college as an independent study coordinator before going on to enroll at Harvard Medical School.

Never Giving Up on Anyone

My Buddhist practice has taught me how to win over my own hopelessness and to respect the dignity of each person’s life. Because I have hope and believe in the potential of each patient, I never give up on any of them. My patients are not at the whims of their disease, they’re on “Team Smith”—a team that wins over illnesses by understanding what’s going on with them so they can be empowered to take charge. And as a physician, I always ask myself what I can do to help my patients, always reminding them that they can triumph. I try to better understand them and their habits as individuals and treasure each relationship. In this way, I communicate the heart of Buddhism through my behavior.

My determination is that, as long as I am there, the culture of warmth is going to be so pervasive in the hospital that there will be no place for negativity.

Soka Gakkai activities have taught me how to pray deeply for each person’s happiness while taking any action necessary to make that prayer a reality. This has directly translated to how I strive to serve my patients and staff at work. My determination is that, as long as I am there, the culture of warmth is going to be so pervasive in the hospital that there will be no place for negativity.

Soka Gakkai activities have also given me the courage to continuously expand my life. I have taken on various roles as a physician leader and governing board member in a large health system in Louisiana, and I even owned a solo private practice. Each step of the way, as the familiar depression returned, I chanted and reminded myself of my determination to shine as Daisaku Ikeda’s disciple. As a result, in 2018, I was named a New Orleans CityBusiness “Woman of the Year” for my professional and community achievements.

Shining the Light on Others

I want to develop myself to become someone who can raise others. I spent so much of my youth not believing in my own potential, but so many amazing women supported me steadily. Doing the same for the next generation, this is the next step in my life.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, I have had the opportunity to use my Buddhist practice to support my colleagues and patients. In my capacity as an associate medical director of a large group practice, I see patients and supervise and support physicians of multiple specialties. With my patients, I am responding to their needs and educating them on the realities of COVID-19 and how to stay safe. As a physician leader, I have had to tamp down hysteria and care for the caregivers. Because of my experience as a women’s leader in my local Soka Gakkai organization, I know the vital importance of serving people, and I am doing everything I can to help elevate the life state of the doctors, staff and all those I work with. Through chanting and Buddhist study, I have been able to maintain a life state of hope during these times of uncertainty and crisis and inspire others to have hope.

At a team meeting, I asked my colleagues, “What are some positive things that you have seen come out of the pandemic?” Everyone had something positive to share. Local restaurants were donating food to our medical staff; doctors, staff and others are showing up to support in any way they can, regardless of whether it’s their job function or not. It has been beautiful to see the awakening and strengthening of the bodhisattva life condition in many people—the will to compassionately support and care for others.

Further, in my effort to respond to Daisaku Ikeda’s prayer for the quick end to the pandemic, I have volunteered as a participant in a COVID vaccine trial. As a result of my participation in this trial, I have been featured on national news programs and in national periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Reader’s Digest and the New Yorker. I want to share with the world what it means to stand up as a protagonist to transform poison into medicine.

Adapted from the January 2019 issue of Living Buddhism, SGI-USA.