為正義挺身而出

伊莎貝拉‧麥奎克-梶原 英國
笑容燦爛的女性青年在海濱區域留影。
(照片來源:伊莎貝拉‧麥奎克-梶原)

來自英國的伊莎貝拉‧麥奎克-梶原(Isabella McQuaker-Kajiwara),通過佛法修行打開心扉,與以前的同學們展開對話,討論在校期間所遭遇到的負面經歷。

我從2019年7月開始修行日蓮佛法。在2020年6月,我開始每一天很認真唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(這個行為稱為「唱題」),祈求自己能徹底轉換我面臨的幾個挑戰。我的第一個挑戰是要決定是否接受一所知名大學昂貴的碩士學位課程,我為此已經努力一年了。第二個挑戰是要完成我大學本科的畢業論文,因為我正苦於專注力與自信的問題。第三個挑戰則是我想面對我以前高中的同學們,和他們討論種族主義、性別歧視、階級歧視和同性戀恐懼症的經歷。這些問題已經困擾了我好幾年,隨著喬治‧佛洛伊德被謀殺的悲慘事件以及全球前所未有的大規模民權運動,我更加覺得自己必須即刻正視這些問題。

與其讓困境主宰而陷入焦慮與恐懼,我開始敞開胸懷擁抱這一切,視其為自身成長的機緣。

這些挑戰看似太艱巨,難以跨越。然而,日蓮大聖人在其著書中提到:「見雨猛知龍大,見華盛知池深。」這段指導為當時的我帶來了巨大的鼓勵,因為它促使我審視自己看待處境的方式。就如蓮花出淤泥而不染,最大的勝利來自最艱苦的環境。因此,與其讓困境主宰而陷入焦慮與恐懼,我開始敞開胸懷擁抱這一切,視其為自身成長的機緣。

我的導師,創價學會第三任會長池田大作鼓勵道:「一切從祈求開始。」因此我對祈求的力量抱著絕對的信心,決意真誠地唱題;同時專注於自己心裡深處需要做出的變革,也明白自己必須實踐。我把握每一個參與英國SGI活動的機會,支持與鼓勵會友同志們。這些努力讓我建立了自信,在現實生活中提起勇氣付諸行動。當我開始懷疑自己的能力時,英國SGI的會友們也會反過來鼓勵我。

我終於能夠寫出給以前高中社群的一封信。內容關於我及其他人曾面臨的歧視。我大聲地朗讀信函內容,錄製成視頻並發佈到社交媒體上。在闡述經歷時,我確定沒有提及人名。主要專注於我想傳達的訊息,而不是討論誰是誰非。我也分享了我所參考的教育資源,方便大家提高對此議題的意識。

我之前一直猶豫是否要公開說出這些問題,因為我知道這會讓某些人感到不安甚至憤怒。然而,我決意說出這些問題的目的,並不是想指責任何人;而是想藉著強而有力的對話為所有人創造幸福與價值。最大的挑戰就是改變自己對他人的觀點,從對峙的態度轉變成發掘他人的佛性,傾聽他們的聲音,進行真心與互相尊重的懇談。

催化效應

視頻獲得很好的迴響,深深感動了我。一天裡就有逾5000次的觀看次數以及超過百人在評論欄裡敘述自己的經歷。也有線上的組織聯繫我,讓我在之前的學校帶領一項活動,目的是為了把學校課程去殖民化並擴展課程內容,以便真正地反映學校的多元與平等。學校領導目前正積極參與提案,確保學生代表能常態性地參與正規課程的檢討過程。

察覺到他可能對事態的發展感到擔憂,我能夠以慈悲而不是憤怒的角度面對他。

這個視頻成為了許多對話的起點。其中,我與一位以前的老師進行了一次最有力的對話。他曾在課堂上用了帶有種族歧視的字眼。他寄給我一封電子郵件談及我的視頻,信中措辭強硬,更要求我解釋視頻中的「指控」。這讓我覺得憤怒,因為他所在意的,看來只是自己的形象是否會被破壞。唱題讓我把這鼓氣憤轉化成慈悲,我主動聯繫他,與他敞開真心地交流。察覺到他可能對事態的發展感到擔憂,我能夠以慈悲而不是憤怒的角度面對他。不出意料,他應約與我對話。他更讓我給他建議下來該如何提高自己的意識,能適當措辭以及察覺用詞對學生帶來的影響。

這個經驗帶給我最大的收穫是覺悟到一個人勇敢跨出第一步所帶來的力量。我決意繼續懷抱遠大理想為人類幸福努力。為此,我要把生命投注在維護人權並協助建設一個以尊重生命尊嚴為原則的社會。

有了這明確的目標,也幫助我跨越了先前提到的其他兩個挑戰。我沒有接受報讀那個碩士課程,因為我意識到自己的使命就在社會學領域。這股蘇生般的自信讓我對畢業論文充滿熱情,我不再把它視為一份負擔而是一個磨練生命,勇往前進的美好契機。我內心的變革與整個社會的變革始終密不可分——此信念重新激勵了我。

來源: 2020年11月英國SGI雜誌《生活的藝術》(Art of Living)

Taking a Stand for Justice

Isabella McQuaker-Kajiwara, UK
A smiling young woman standing on a waterfront
Courtesy of Isabella McQuaker-Kajiwara

Isabella McQuaker-Kajiwara from the UK used her Buddhist practice to open up a dialogue with her former classmates about her negative experiences at school.

I’ve been practicing Nichiren Buddhism since July 2019. At the beginning of June 2020, I began chanting a lot every day to deeply transform a few challenges I was faced with. The first challenge was deciding whether to accept a place on an expensive and prestigious Master’s degree program, which I had been working toward for a year. My second challenge was finishing my undergraduate dissertation as I was struggling to focus and maintain confidence in my work. My third challenge was that I wished to confront my classmates from my former high school about experiences of racism, sexism, classism and homophobia. This had been on my mind for years and had increased in urgency in the wake of George Floyd’s tragic murder and the unprecedented scale of the global civil rights movement that followed.

Rather than allowing my problems to fill me with anxiety and fear, I began to welcome them for giving me the opportunity to grow as a person.

All these challenges seemed almost too big to overcome. A passage in the writings of Nichiren Daishonin reads: “By observing the fury of the rain, we can tell the greatness of the dragon who caused it; and by observing the flourishing of the lotus flowers, we can tell the depth of the pond they grow in.” This passage became a great source of encouragement for me during this time, as it truly forced me to consider the way I viewed my circumstances. Like the lotus flowers growing in the muddy pond, the greatest victories arise from the muddiest conditions. Therefore, rather than allowing my problems to fill me with anxiety and fear, I began to welcome them for giving me the opportunity to grow as a person.

My mentor, third Soka Gakkai president Daisaku Ikeda, encourages: “Everything begins with prayer.” I decided to chant earnestly with absolute conviction in the power of my prayer. As well as focusing on what I needed to transform in my own heart, I knew that I also needed to take action. I took every opportunity to participate in SGI-UK activities and support and encourage fellow members. These efforts gave me the confidence to take bold actions in my daily life. In turn, in the moments when I doubted myself, my fellow SGI-UK members encouraged me.

I was finally able to write a letter addressed to my former high school community regarding the discriminations that I and others had faced. I read it aloud and then posted it as a video on social media. I made sure that I included no names of people involved in the experiences I laid out, centering it on the message I was trying to convey rather than who was in the “right” or “wrong.” I also added references to educational resources that people could look into to create awareness.

I had been hesitant to speak out on these issues because I knew that it would make certain people uncomfortable and maybe even outraged. However, my determination to speak out about these issues was not about pointing a finger of blame on individual people, but about engaging in powerful dialogues and creating happiness and value for everybody involved. The biggest challenge of all was in shifting my own mindset toward them, moving from perceiving the situation as one of confrontation to trying to see Buddhahood in others, listening to them and engaging in genuine and respectful dialogue.

A Catalyzing Effect

I was powerfully moved by how well my video was received. Within a day it had over 5,000 views and over a hundred comments from people recounting their own experiences. I was also contacted by an online organization to lead a campaign in my former school for decolonizing and expanding the school curriculum so that it truly reflects equality and diversity. The director of the school is now engaging with proposals to solidify recurring student representation in the formal curriculum review process.

By acknowledging his possible fears about the situation, I was able to approach him from a standpoint of compassion rather than anger.

The video became a starting point for many dialogues. One of the most powerful conversations I had was with one of my former teachers, who had used an ethnic slur in the classroom. I received a pretty strongly worded email from him about the video; he was demanding to know why I made the claims I had. This angered me because it seemed that his only concern was the damage that could be done to his reputation. My chanting allowed me to transform this anger into compassion, and I reached out to him for a heart-to-heart exchange. By acknowledging his possible fears about the situation, I was able to approach him from a standpoint of compassion rather than anger. So, it wasn’t a surprise when he agreed to meet me for a dialogue. He asked for my suggestions about what he could do in the future to be more cognizant of the words he uses and how they can affect students.

The most rewarding aspect of this experience was realizing the power that one person can have in taking that first courageous step. I am determined to continue dreaming big for the sake of humanity. To that end, I want to dedicate my life to championing human rights and help build a society guided by the principle of respect for the dignity of life.

This clarity of vision for my life also helped me overcome the other two challenges I mentioned earlier. I rejected the Master’s offer as I realized that my mission is in the field of sociology instead. With freshly infused confidence in myself, I was able to engage with my dissertation with enthusiasm, as I no longer saw it as a burden but an opportunity to polish my life even further. I’m inspired anew by the conviction that my inner transformation is inherently linked to the transformation of the whole of society.

Adapted from the November 2020 issue of Art of Living, SGI-UK.