輸入關鍵字

「轉變人類歷史」的活動旨在激勵人們挺起胸膛展開行動。在決定地球未來的3個領域:廢除核武器、全民教育、氣候行動,改變不無可能!這些議題也是國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)會長池田大作於2022年《和平倡言》裡提及的重點。

歡迎探索此頁面,了解人們努力創造改變的事蹟。

#轉變人類歷史

納爾遜・曼德拉曾言:「教育是可以用來改變世界的最強而有力的武器。」世界極需改變。接受教育能夠改變生活,減少貧困和暴力的情況,改善平等且增加機會。教育能夠改變社區,使我們有能力推動社會朝樂觀的方向發展。


據聯合國估計,2019冠狀病毒病已抹除了20年來在教育領域的發展成果。而且世界各地,人們無法接受教育的情況正在惡化。擴展教育機會意味著確保人類在此星球上的未來。

化侮辱為尊重――成為改變的力量

阿魯妮瑪・夏爾馬 印度



從創傷陰影中綻放生命光彩

赫里特‧費爾斯特赫 荷蘭



你是在什麼樣子的情況下想要為難民工作?

隨著更多難民進入荷蘭,特別是我的故鄉代爾夫特,難民青年的人數亦不斷上升,他們因為母國的戰亂,多年來失去接受教育的機會。 大約於十年前,荷蘭的教育當局開始為他們提供特別課程,以收窄教育的差距。但是這些課程並不是很足夠,而學生持續因為缺乏信心和表達自己的能力而煩惱不已。他們在戰區的恐怖經歷,影響他們吸收新資訊的能力,因為他們滿腦子仍然充滿戰爭的事情 . . .

你是在什麼樣子的情況下想要為難民工作?

隨著更多難民進入荷蘭,特別是我的故鄉代爾夫特,難民青年的人數亦不斷上升,他們因為母國的戰亂,多年來失去接受教育的機會。大約於十年前,荷蘭的教育當局開始為他們提供特別課程,以收窄教育的差距。但是這些課程並不是很足夠,而學生持續因為缺乏信心和表達自己的能力而煩惱不已。他們在戰區的恐怖經歷,影響他們吸收新資訊的能力,因為他們滿腦子仍然充滿戰爭的事情。


在幾年前,一名叫杰倫‧范德齊伊德(Jeroen van der Zijde)的社工贊同並加入我的計劃。我們開辦一種為難民提供額外語言教學的特別課程,並教導他們如何在社會上自立自強的特別課程。


以你的學生為例,難民在荷蘭社會以及學習荷蘭語的過程中,面對什麼困難?

最大的問題是,因為缺乏與當地同儕接觸的機會,而導致缺乏口語溝通的技巧。例如,其中一名學生雖然已經在荷蘭生活數年,但仍提到他最大的願望就是能夠擁有一位荷蘭人朋友,而且他並非例外,實在是太令人感到遺憾了。


學生經常因為安全感,而只留在與自己相同種族、國家或宗教背景的圈子生活,這現象導致他們更加覺得自己與荷蘭社會格格不入。有些人因為無法融入,最終決定離開荷蘭,前往敘利亞和伊拉克,投身戰爭。令人遺憾的是,在那些離開荷蘭,投身戰爭的人之比率當中,有相當大的部分來自代爾夫特。


你決定將戲劇融入語言教育之中的理念是什麼?最初有怎樣的結果?

在2014年,特別課程第一年的最後,學生的詞彙量有明顯的進步,但他們的溝通技巧仍然不佳,因此我們決定在第二年要更注重這方面的發展。為了達到該目標,我們安排了一位教戲劇的老師。這使到學生的自信和表達自我的能力有明顯增長,但說話的流暢度仍然不如預期。


2016年,我們決定將重點放在讓學生能夠述說關於自己的故事。我們將這名為「語言劇場」,聚焦於通過戲劇課教授語言。


最初,一切都很混亂。學生的背景、年齡和教育程度太不一樣了。這些來自索馬里、厄立特里亞和敘利亞的青年男女,年齡介乎十四至十八歲,有人幾乎不識字,也有人擁有高學歷。這導致學生群組之間發生衝突和欺凌現象,有同學在課堂外,人身安全還遭到威脅。戰爭帶來的影響在他們身上清晰可見。


你在這次經歷中遇到怎樣的挑戰?你如何以佛法修行跨越這個挑戰?

我開始對任何可能變成衝突的徵兆感到敏感,有時甚至會顫抖、講不出話,影響我作為教師的表現。通過唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題),我發現,首先我要接納學生的母國烽火連天這個事實,鼓起勇氣面對現實。之後,我明白到儘管背景和宗教信仰有所不同,我們仍然能夠以真心回應真心,分享彼此的故事。


我們鼓勵大家進行對話,打散各個小圈圈,將他們混在一起,使到來自不同背景的學生需要與彼此合作。最初,在這方面有很大的困難,因為原來的小圈圈為大家提供一份安全感,好比說,就有一名學生拒絕參與有被混合過的小組。後來才得知她失去了雙親以後,便逃離了自己的國家。與其堅持要她加入,我們給她時間自己下決定。後來她逐漸能夠參與其中了。這件事讓我們明白要關注每一位學生的情況。


語言劇場帶來什麼成果?

在語言劇場中,我們特別著重於讓每一位學生都能夠分享自己的故事。每一個故事都加強了他們之間的凝聚力,那是因為他們都開始將目光放更遠,超越原屬的小圈圈,發覺彼此都屬於一個有共同需要和興趣的社群。


貫徹「將學校融入社會,亦將社會帶進校園」的理念,我們在學年進行到一半的時候,邀請家長、市政府行政人員、少數民族的楷模,例如事業成功的索馬里企業家和在聯合國難民署工作的年輕敘利亞女子,來到學校。


在會面中,學生發表了各自的想法。我們便發現他們的家長往往都對子女帶著較古板的期待,或者對他們的可能性帶著較狹隘的看法。一般而言,那些家長都希望子女能夠成為醫生、教師、警察或足球選手。


之後,我們也邀請了醫生、托兒中心的負責人、警察和市政府行政人員等不同專業的代表,接受學生訪問和錄影。


在2016-2017學年快結束時,學生上演了一齣由他們自己編寫、選角的舞台劇。學生的家人、學校的管理層和代爾夫特市的教育委員都出席了這場演出。在舞台劇開始前,每一位學生都以獨白的形式,分享各自的故事或面對未來的願望。


結論是這過程使學生在荷蘭社會中取得自信,和掌握到非自己不可的使命感。當然,學生的父母也為他們感到十分驕傲。


最近的情況怎樣?

這個計劃在學生之間、不同的民族之間、學生與教師之間、家長和政府之間,建立起積極正面的橋梁和理解。 2016-2017學年的尾聲,他們明顯地更加尊重彼此的多樣性,並更相信透過對話,能夠解決個人或群體間的問題。


此外,學生的自主性亦有所加強。這反映在他們將自己的故事,寫成舞台劇,並自己選擇角色一事上。這個計劃讓學生們都獲得了莫大的幸福,進而改善了他們的人生。當中有不少人之後都成功受到高等教育。


有份本地報章在其頭版報導了語言劇場的故事,並刊登了一張學生圍繞著代爾夫特市市長的合照。現在在代爾夫特市內,越來越多人意識到這類活動的重要性。

投身杏壇,耕耘幸福:巴拿馬SGI教師部

巴拿馬SGI教師部領導人 黑蒂‧紹塞多



您所珍視的一切可能瞬間就化為灰燼。無論是有意還是無意,在此時使用核武器的危險性都遠大於冷戰以來的任何時候。只要這些具大規模殺傷性的濫殺型武器存在,人類就無法擺脫這毀滅性的威脅。


同時,在世界各地無數關注這議題的人們努力推動之下,《禁止核武器條約》於2021年生效,核武器現已受該條約的法律效力所約束。迄今為止,已有86個國家簽署該條約。這仍不包括任一個核武器擁有國。這個世代的人們有能力成為最終使世界擺脫這類非人道武器的主宰。


請點擊圖片,了解下方出現的數字與核武器之間的關聯。

各界之聲

全力以赴――訪談比阿特麗斯‧菲恩



青年對實現無核武器世界的呼聲

2022年6月於奧地利的維也納舉辦了聯合國《禁止核武器條約》首次締約國會議。參與此歷史性會議的創價學會青年代表們分享了他們的決心。



實現具尊嚴與安全性的無核武器世界

SGI聯合國相關事務辦事處 池田・安娜



Facebook
YouTube

播放清單的內容包括佛道修行的入門材料、來自世界各地會員的故事以及創價學會為和平所做的努力。

• Small
  • Medium
  • Large
Search

Transforming Human History is a campaign to encourage engagement and inspire confidence that change is possible in three areas that will determine the future of life on our planet: nuclear weapons abolition, education for all and climate action. These issues are the focus of SGI President Daisaku Ikeda’s 2022 peace proposal.

Here you can hear from people who are helping to create change.

#TransformingHumanHistory

”Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world,” said Nelson Mandela. The world is in desperate need of change. Access to education changes lives. It leads to a reduction in poverty and violence and increases equality and opportunity. It transforms communities and empowers us to move society in a positive direction.


The United Nations has estimated that COVID-19 has wiped out 20 years of education gains. And around the world, education is under threat. Expanding access to education means securing the future of humanity on this planet.

From Insult to Honor: Becoming a Force for Transformation

Arunima Sharma, India



From Trauma to Drama

Gerrit Versteeg, Netherlands



How did you begin working with refugees?

With more refugees entering the Netherlands, especially Delft, the city I am from, there has been an increase in the number of refugee youths who have missed many years of education because of war in their home countries. About a decade ago, Dutch education authorities began providing special classes to help close this gap. However, these classes have not always been sufficient, and students have continued to struggle with confidence and self-expression. Their often terrible experiences in war zones impact their ability to absorb new information—their minds are still full of war . . .

How did you begin working with refugees?

With more refugees entering the Netherlands, especially Delft, the city I am from, there has been an increase in the number of refugee youths who have missed many years of education because of war in their home countries. About a decade ago, Dutch education authorities began providing special classes to help close this gap. However, these classes have not always been sufficient, and students have continued to struggle with confidence and self-expression. Their often terrible experiences in war zones impact their ability to absorb new information—their minds are still full of war.


Some years ago, together with Jeroen van der Zijde, who took the initiative, and a social worker, we started a special class to provide additional language lessons to refugees, coupled with social empowerment lessons.


What kind of challenges do refugees such as the students you teach face in Dutch society and in learning Dutch?

The biggest problem is the lack of oral communication skills owing to a lack of contact with local peers. For example, one student who had already spent several years in the Netherlands mentioned to me that his greatest wish was to have a Dutch friend. He is not an exception. How very sad.


Students themselves often stay within their own ethnic, national or religious circles for security, which compounds their sense of exclusion from mainstream Dutch society. Because of this feeling of exclusion, some have ended up leaving the country to take part in the war in Syria and Iraq. The sad reality is that a sizable proportion of those who leave the Netherlands to do this have come from Delft.


You began incorporating drama into language teaching. What was the idea behind this, and what were the initial results?

At the end of the first year of our special class, in 2014, the students’ vocabulary had significantly improved, but their communication skills were still very poor. We decided in the second year to give more attention to this, and to this end, a drama teacher was appointed. That led to a clear improvement in students’ self-confidence and ability to express themselves, but their language fluency remained below the desired level.


In 2016, we decided to focus on enabling the students to tell their own stories. We called this the “Language Theater,” with a clear focus on teaching language through drama lessons.


Initially, it was chaotic. The backgrounds, ages and educational levels of the students were too diverse. We had Somali, Eritrean and Syrian boys and girls between the ages of 14 and 18, ranging from nearly illiterate to highly educated. This led to conflict and bullying between groups of students, including physical threats outside the classroom. The effects of war were clearly apparent in their lives.


How did this whole experience challenge you personally, and how did you use your Buddhist practice to confront that challenge?

I became extremely sensitive to any sign of aggression, to the point that it sometimes interfered with my performance as a teacher—I would physically tremble and find it difficult to speak. Through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, I realized first of all that I had to accept their war zone condition as a fact, gain courage and deal with it. Then I realized that despite our different backgrounds and religions, we could still create real heart-to-heart connections with each other and share our lives.


We encouraged dialogue and mixed the groups so that students from different backgrounds would have to work together. Initially, this was difficult because the groups offered a kind of safety. One student, for example, refused to join a mixed group. We discovered she had fled her country after she had lost both parents. Instead of insisting, we gave her time to make her own choice, and gradually she was able to take part in the mixed group. This incident taught us to pay attention to the personal situation of each student.


What results did the Language Theater yield?

In the Language Theater, attention was given to each student to enable them to tell their own story. Each student’s story strengthened solidarity among the students, as each began to look beyond their own group and see themselves as part of the larger community with common needs and interests.


In line with our principle of “put the school in the society and the society in the school,” halfway through the year parents, municipal administrators and role models from the ethnic communities—for example, a successful Somali entrepreneur and a young Syrian woman who works for UNHCR—were invited to the school.


During the meeting, the students voiced their own perspectives, and it became clear that parents often have quite rigid expectations of their children or limited views of their possibilities. Typically, they want their children to become doctors, teachers, police officers or soccer players.


We then invited representatives of several professions—doctors, leaders of a childcare center, a police officer and a municipal administrator—to be interviewed and filmed by the students.


At the end of the 2016–17 school year, the students presented a play that they themselves had written and for which they had chosen their own roles. It was attended by their family members, the school management and the councillor for education of the city of Delft. Prior to the play, each student presented a monologue in which they shared their own story or wish for the future.


The result of this process was that the students gained self-confidence in Dutch society and a strong sense of their own unique mission. And, of course, their parents were very proud.


How are things now?

The project created positive connections and understanding between students and between the different ethnic groups, as well as between the students and teachers, parents and authorities. By the end of the 2016–17 school year, they had significantly more respect for diversity and a lot more confidence that personal or group problems can be solved through dialogue.


It was also clear that it had enhanced the students’ autonomy, as seen in the way they turned their own stories into a play and chose their own roles. The project generated a great deal of happiness among the students and led to improvements in their personal lives. Many were able to successfully progress on to higher education.


A local paper ran a front-page story on the Language Theater, with a picture of the mayor of Delft surrounded by the students. Within the municipality of Delft there is now a growing awareness of the importance of these initiatives.

Educating for Happiness: The SGI-Panama Educators Division

Heidy Saucedo, SGI-Panama Educators Division Head



Everything you treasure could be reduced to ashes in a moment. There is more danger of a nuclear weapon being used now—whether deliberately or by accident—than at any time since the Cold War. So long as these indiscriminate weapons of mass destruction exist, humanity lives under the constant threat of annihilation.


At the same time, through the momentum created by countless concerned individuals around the world, nuclear weapons have now been outlawed by the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), which came into force in 2021. So far, 86 nations have signed the treaty. This does not yet include any of the nuclear-armed states. This generation can be the generation that finally rids the world of these inhumane weapons.


Find out how the numbers below are related to nuclear weapons by clicking on the images.

Expert Perspective

Doing What We Can: A Conversation with Beatrice Fihn



Youth Voices for a Nuclear- Weapon-Free World

Soka Gakkai Youth representatives who attended the historic First Meeting of States Parties (1MSP) to the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), held in Vienna, Austria, in June 2022 share their convictions.



Dignity, Security and a World Free of Nuclear Weapons

Anna Ikeda, SGI Office for UN Affairs



Facebook
YouTube

Includes playlists on Buddhist practice for beginners, members' stories from around the world and Soka Gakkai activities for peace