成功不怕被拒

克莱顿‧萨拉特 美国
克莱顿‧萨拉特

我从美国芝加哥的德保罗大学戏剧学院毕业之后,和当时的未婚妻搬到纽约市。她从事灯光设计,我则怀抱着成为剧场专业演员的梦想。当时,我已经信仰日莲佛法约五年了,抵达纽约后,很快就和当地的创价学会会员取得联系。4个月之内,我已经跟一个职业剧团在巡回公演的旅途上了。

巡回演出结束之后,我邀集了几位共事的演员、剧作家以及导演,成立了一个小剧团。然而,初试啼声的剧团票房惨淡,入不敷出,未婚妻又在此时白血病复发,我必须照顾她,还兼了一份服务生工作以求糊口。

在这个时候,有位当时自己也在对抗癌症的创价学会会员来看我,鼓励我不要放弃,给予温暖无比的关怀。我们便一起唱题来面对这个黑暗时期。但是,未婚妻终究还是病逝了。

未婚妻过世后的几年间,沉重的悲伤挥之不去,但是从创价学会这个大家族的鼓励以及池田大作的著作中,总是能得到慰藉。

池田先生曾经写道:“这种辛酸、悲凉的内心,我非常清楚。而能把苦难化为幸福、把不断流淌的泪水化为福运的光辉的,是佛法。最不幸的人才最有获得幸福的权利。”

陌生领域

我持续编撰舞台剧给自己和同事演出。直到有一天,察觉到自己即将动手写的下一部作品应该制作成电影,而不是舞台剧。在有点天真且完全不知道怎么卖出电影剧本的情形下,我毅然决然踏入完全陌生的领域,一头栽入,勇往直前。

我心里非常清楚:如果想要成功,就一定要以信心为基础。因此认真唱念“南无妙法莲华经(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)”(唱题),祈求在大银幕上获得佳绩。同时作为壮年部干部,全心投入所在区域里的美国SGI活动。

我努力学习剧本的架构,写了一部又一部的草稿来增进技巧。逐渐有一些迹象显示自己正走在正确的道路上。但同时我也明了,我必须成功打进市场。为此,好莱坞经纪人及莫大的福运必不可少。
接着,我做了一件有生以来最大胆的事──向会员们宣布自己将会卖掉一部剧本,并成为职业剧作家。既然告诉了所有人,我就非得成功不可!

专心致志

这场挑战持续了将近两年。这段期间内,我时常细细回味日莲《御书》中,自己很喜欢的一段话,这里谈到的是“坚持”的重要性:“譬如由鎌仓至京,计程十二日,若行十一日,至最后一日而止步不前,何得而咏都城之月乎?”

费尽心思,完成一部呕心沥血之作后,便开始寄信给登记在好莱坞编剧、经纪人名录上的制作人,请他们读一读我的作品。我寄了数百封信出去,也收到数百封拒绝的回函。大多数的制作人连看都不看一眼我的作品,只因为他们从来没听说过我这个人。但是,我并没有因此而放弃或是受到打击。

当我决意要肯定自己的价值时,就发觉必须从内在开始展开改变,必须拒绝成为自怨自艾、受环境箝制的人。

在唱题时,脑海中时常会出现令人泄气的念头,告诉自己梦想是不可能实现的,像是:“我的年纪太大了!”、“我不够有才华!”或是“我没有任何人脉!”之类,这才是真正的奋战。当我决意要肯定自己的价值时,就发觉必须从内在开始展开改变,必须拒绝成为自怨自艾、受环境箝制的人。

突破重围

虽然被拒绝数百次,但我知道,只要有一个肯定的回复,我就可以继续前进。在持续唱题中,终于有一位出版商的主管对我的作品产生兴趣,甚至帮我安排了一位经纪人,而那位经纪人成功卖出了我的剧本!

一夕之间,我成为圈内人,也成为人们想要约见的人物。开始会常飞去洛杉矶,和高层制作人开会,也与这个行业中的决策者交流往来。

其中有次与某知名制作人的交流特别值得一提:他盯着我,说我完成了不可能的任务,因为以一个圈外人的身份,能成功卖出剧本根本是前所未闻的事!

在我打进好莱坞数年后的今天,我和妻子拥有美满的婚姻,经济上也领受了极大的功德。我再也不需要为糊口而兼差,而是可以尽情投入创作以及创价学会活动,尤其可以在身处的区域里,鼓励青年部会员。这些年轻人,有的曾经无家可归,有的曾经因药物滥用以及暴力而受苦,但今天他们的生活状况都已经得到改善,并给其他人带来莫大的鼓舞。当我看到年轻人战胜逆境,而谱写他们人生新篇章时,我心中感受到的喜悦无与伦比。

[2017年10日]

Only One Yes

by Clayton Surratt, USA
Clayton Surrat

After graduating from the Theatre School at DePaul University in Chicago, my college sweetheart and I moved to New York City. She was in lighting design, and I had dreams of working as a professional actor in the theater. I had been practicing Nichiren Buddhism for around five years and quickly made contact with the local Soka Gakkai members. Within four months of arriving, I was on tour with a professional company.

After that tour, I started a small theater company with some fellow actors, writers and directors. But the fledgling theater did not pay the bills. My fiancée suffered a relapse of leukemia, and I became her caregiver and worked a survival job as a waiter.

At this time, an amazing Soka Gakkai member who was battling cancer herself visited and encouraged me to never give up, and we chanted together to battle this dark period. My fiancée, however, eventually passed away from her disease.

The years after her passing were filled with deep sorrow, but I always had my Soka Gakkai family and Daisaku Ikeda‘s words of encouragement to comfort me.

In one of his writings, Mr. Ikeda says: “I can deeply appreciate how much pain and sadness you must feel. However, this Buddhism has the power to transform your suffering into happiness, to change the tears you have shed into glittering jewels of good fortune. Those who have wept the most bitterly have the right to become the happiest people of all.”

Out of My Comfort Zone

I continued to write plays for both myself and my fellow actors to perform in, but I reached a point where I knew the next story I wanted to write would be best as a movie and not a stage play. I determined to reinvent myself and so, somewhat naively and without the slightest idea how I would sell a screenplay or get it made, I plunged in and moved forward.

I knew I would have to root myself in faith if I was to succeed. I abundantly chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo to somehow achieve screenplay success and exerted myself in my role as the men’s leader in my local SGI-USA area.

I studied how to structure a script and wrote draft after draft to learn my craft. I began to see signs that I was on the right path, but I also knew that I was going to need a big, big break. I was going to need a Hollywood agent. I was going to need tremendous good fortune.

The next thing I did was one of the scariest things I had ever done—I announced to my fellow members that I would sell a screenplay and therefore become a professional screenwriter. Now that I had told everyone, I had to succeed!

Determined Effort

It was a battle that would go on for nearly two years! During this time, I would reflect on one of my favorite Nichiren quotes on the importance of persistence: “The journey from Kamakura to Kyoto takes twelve days. If you travel for eleven but stop with only one day remaining, how can you admire the moon over the capital?”

When I finally had a screenplay that was as good as it could possibly be, I started to send out query letters to producers I found in the Hollywood directories of producers and agents, asking them to read my script. I sent hundreds of letters and got hundreds of rejections. Most producers refused to even look at my material because they had never heard of me. But I did not let that stop me or discourage me.

As I fought to recognize my own value, I had to make an internal change and refuse to be a victim of my circumstances.

Many times when I was chanting, discouraging thoughts would pop into my mind telling me that my dream was impossible. Ideas like: “I’m too old,” “I’m not talented enough” and “I don’t have any connections.” This was the real battle. As I fought to recognize my own value, I had to make an internal change and refuse to be a victim of my circumstances.

A Breakthrough

Even though I was getting hundreds of noes and rejection after rejection, I knew I only needed one yes to move forward. I continued chanting and persevering and finally was able to impress a literary manager who went on to land me an agent who sold my screenplay!

Instantly, I was an insider, and people wanted to meet with me. I was suddenly flying out to Los Angeles, going to pitch meetings with high-level producers and mixing with decision makers in the industry.

One meeting with a well-known producer was particularly notable, he looked at me and said that what I had done was impossible. He told me that selling a screenplay like mine from outside the system just never happens.

Today, several years after my big break into Hollywood, I am happily married to my amazing wife, and we enjoy tremendous financial fortune. I no longer work a survival job and can devote my time fully to my creative writing projects and Soka Gakkai activities, especially to encouraging the young people in my local area. Some have fought homelessness, drug abuse and violence and were able to completely transform their situations and encourage others. Nothing compares to the joy I feel watching young people battle their circumstances and win, rewriting the scripts of their own lives.

[October 2017]